Procrastination..? What is that?

I have been very productive over the past month. Very productive.

I finished 3 shawls:

FFBS3 FSB9 DSC_0017

Next up was the Hilde hat, and then several Nettie hats:

Hildehat2 RavelryNettieHat Photo 153

Aside from the knitting, I have been blogging regularly and even published two patterns with picture tutorials.

If you think I am taking it easy now, you are mistaken. Over the past few days I have been working on another hat pattern of which I have finished two prototypes, and a third prototype is laying flat to dry as I type this.

PWIT

When it comes to knitting, designing and writing patterns, I am highly productive. I have no explanation how come.

Am I fully focussed, my goal is to finish a project as quickly as possible and move on to the next project without missing a beat.

Procrastination..? What the hell is that???

What is holding me back?

As productive as I am in knitting, there is one area where I am procrastinating like there is no tomorrow.

Not a day goes by and I am thinking about it.

Not a day goes by and I am asking myself why I didn’t work on it yet again.

And that my dear knitter is a project I have been stalling for the past 4 months: my website “gettingpurlywithit.com“.

Web designers and web developers have been working on my website and now I have to take action. But I haven’t been taking action at all.

AND I DON”T KNOW WHY!!!

Reasons for my procrastination

Am I afraid that you all won’t like it?
Am I setting the bar too high for myself?
Am I too much of a perfectionist?
Am I afraid to fail?

Oh, Lordy… I need your help on this one, my dear friends…

As from today, I need to work on my website so that it finally can be launched.

By coming Sunday, I must at least have given my web developer something to work on. Please, please, please hold me accountable for that.

I really need your encouragement in this one.

There. I asked for your encouragement. See, I am not perfect.

I have insecurities that plague me, and I am afraid of failing.

But didn’t I promise that I would reach for my highest potential?

I can reach it, I know it. But sometimes, I too need just a little bit of help and encouragement…

Thanks for reading and until the next entry! Wish me luck, I need it!

20 Responses to Procrastination..? What is that?

  1. Chris T. says:

    C’mon Nancy – I am just DYING to see the new website. I’m sure it’s gonna be as beautiful as you!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Aww, thanks Chris… Today I really was like omg, wth…why I am procrastinating so much with this website???

  2. rachel says:

    It’s only natural to be a bit afraid about taking on a new venture, but also exciting, don’t you think? Go for it, girl! I’m sure that the new website will be as amazing as all of your other knitty creations! I’m rooting for you.

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Rachel, thankyouthankyouthankyou for your encouragement. It really means a lot to me that you like what I do!!!

  3. Amy P says:

    Nancy, certainly that apprehension with a new project is normal and to be expected. However, try to keep in mind, that like all new things, it will improve with time. Get it going! Get it started! There will be plenty of room for improvement, but that won’t mean it’s any less fabulous. Remember your very first knit piece? Don’t you love it so, despite its flaws? Aren’t you glad you didn’t wait to pick up the needles? Set the fear aside and just put one foot in front of the other. The amazing community you have around you will be there to support you as you continue growing. Be brave!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Amy, yes, that is so true, my very first piece that I knitted is full of flaws and it didn’t stop me from picking up the needles again to improve my knitting. Great analogy… I needed that!!! I love my community… this is how we help and encourage one another!!!

  4. Sarah says:

    I can’t wait to see the cliff you fly over….can’t wait for you to share!!!!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Sarah, knowing that you cannot wait to see how the website is going to look like gives me the motivation to work on it. ASAP 🙂 Hugs!

  5. edith says:

    Schijtlijster!!?? NATUURLIJK NIET. Je doet het hartstikke goed en leuk. Durf die uitdaging aan waar je heel hard aangewerkt hebt.Have faith in yourself!!!! en van je fouten moet je leren. WAAAAT niks gaat FOUT. Succes en ik ben benieuwd. Veel liefs

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Hahaha, absoluut geen schijtlijster… misschien een klein beetje… Tijd om eindelijk actie te ondernemen! Thanks, Edith!!!

  6. Sharon says:

    Nancy,

    What are you waiting for? Go for it!! All we have is today. We cannot allow ourselves to give in to our fears.

    Your new website will be great.

    Sharon

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Sharon, exactly…what is it that I am waiting for? Need to beat down that fear, or just firmly tell it to go away. Thanks for your encouragement!

  7. you can do it!
    need any help? its my speciality 🙂
    http://alicenoyes.com

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      I can do it, I can do it, I can do it, I can do it, I can do it… that has been my mantra over the past few days, Alice 🙂 The website is basically done, all I have to do is fine tune it… Didn’t know you were in the webdesign business! Thanks, Alice!!!

  8. Vanessa says:

    you have such great support!! hooray! and you have my support too! I know your site will be full of inspiration, playful writing, gorgeous photos, and lots and lots of beautiful knitting. But I have also been in your shoes, when even though you are excited about something, you do not feel inspired to complete it. I say: do what feels right. don’t push yourself if you are not ready. maybe taking the time to think things through means that one final idea is still on its way! I know that when you feel right, something gorgeous and incredible will come along and be a very special project! i can’t wait to see it!!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Vanessa, thanks for your words of encouragement, it really is a shot in the arm to me.It’s good to hear that my work is valued! thankyouthankyouthankyou!!!

  9. chayo says:

    sending encouragement! YOU can do it! THis reminds me pretty soon I need to get hopping on my website!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Aw, Chayo, I am feeling yr encouragement! We need to encourage one another…  Thankyou!!!

  10. jenni says:

    We are all here lending you our wings now take them and fly! ♥

