Getting Technical With It, PartII

GTWIpartII6

Hi there, welcome back to my series “Getting Technical With It”!

Yesterday, I discussed the basic form of a fingerless glove design and how to build out from there.

I also discussed the several design options and thus questions that need to be addressed before going any further. Some of those questions were:

  1. How long do I want my glove to be? 12 inch or 14 inch for example?
  2. After I have determined how long it will be, how much yarn would I need?
  3. Oh hey, uhm… in what weight am I going to make this pattern? Chunky, worsted, sports, dk, fingering, sock or lace?

Let’s get on it and answers these three questions!

Playing around with the material and determining yardage

By now, I have determined that I want to offer this fingerless glove pattern in three different yarn weights: Worsted-, sports-, and fingering/sock weight yarn.

I already have determined my basic form and will work from there in my three different weights.

GTWI18

I have not decided quite yet how long I want this fingerless glove will be but maybe I will offer it in 2 lengths: 12″ and 14″

Immediately, the question of how much yardage is needed arises! For each individual weight it will vary… Oi, how to handle this?

Only one way to find out! Playing around with the material…YAY!

Ultra Alpaca worsted by Berocco (100gr/215 yrds)

GTWIpartII9

Using my basic form, and needle size US7, I knitted a pair of gloves that are both 14″.

Plenty of yarn left so now it is known to me that for a 14″ long fingerless glove with worsted weight yarn, 215 yards will be plenty! This also means, that it will be plenty for a 12″ glove.

This Ultra Alpaca worsted is a beautiful Peruvian wool. At a retail price of about $8.75, you really cannot go wrong.

Fresco by Classic Elite Yarns(50 gr/164 yrds)

GTWIpartII10

With this sportsweight yarn and needle US5 I knitted a pair that is 14″ long. So now I know, with 164 yrds sportsweight, I will be fine!

The yarn itself is a luscious blend of wool, angora and baby alpaca. Delicious! Blooms so beautifully after washing!

Road to China Light by the Fibre Company (50 gr/159 yrds)

GTWI5

With this sportsweight and needle US5 I was as well able to knit a 14″ long pair!

GTWIpartII2

This yarn with a blend of baby alpaca, cashmere, camel and silk is simply DELICIOUS! It is beautiful in simple stockinette stitch but let me tell ya, this yarn SCREAMS for a lace stitch!

Alpaca Silk by Blue Sky Alpacas (50 gr/146 yrds)

GTWI6

This sportsweight yarn has only 146 yrds…would I be able to knit a 14″ long pair? Answer is NO.

GTWIpartII3

I did not have enough to make a 14″ pair so had to make a 12″ pair. Important information for when you put out a pattern, eh???

Writing down the pattern so that it makes sense

I could go on an on about the many other yarns I have tried to make this basic fingerless glove, but I think by now that you get how much work this requires. So let’s move on to the next step that is writing down the pattern!

If I would give you this piece of paper with my scribbles, you would all hate me. Because who can figure this out and follow these instructions? Only me.

GTWIpartII7

Because I will offer this basic pattern in 3 different weights, the instructions will slightly vary.

So this means I have to write down 3 individual patterns. And I have to make sure it is written clearly and without errors… Oi. Hardest part of all in this design process.

See how much work this is???

Choosing a stitch pattern

GTWIpartII1

Now that I have written down the basic pattern, I can make the next decision: what stitch pattern will I use? Shall I keep it plain or use a textured pattern? Or maybe a lace pattern?

Oi…decisions, decisions. Good think I have my stitch dictionaries close to me at any time!

GTWIpartII6

This post is getting too long again. Have to break it up and continue in a different post.

All I want is for you to understand what a handknitwear designer has to go through. How much work this requires. And how it at times can be so time consuming. See, a pattern just does not magically appear overnight.

There are many hours of hard work put into this! And this is only a fingerless glove. Can you imagine if this would be a sweater?

For the next part in this series, I need to finalize the gloves and find a model to showcase the gloves. Hopefully, I will find one over the weekend and am able to give you some images on Monday.

So hang on tight!

Thanks for reading and until the next entry.

4 Responses to Getting Technical With It, PartII

  1. JelliDonut says:

    This is why I haven’t released any patterns into the wild just yet. So much work, especially if you are a perfectionist.

    A question about these gloves–have you made any in the round, or are these better suited to knitting flat?

  2. edith says:

    Wat een uitkomst en wat een werk. Zo had het nog niet eens bekeken. Je krijgt in ieder geval de gewenste pasvorm op pols en arm als je begrijpt wat ik bedoel.
    Ik zal een paar gaan proberen. In het rond breien zou ook wel mooi zijn. Ik begin nu pas met bamboe naalden te breien. Heeeeerlijk en warm. Succes en ik blijf je volgen.

  3. Sarah says:

    Thanks for all your hard work and dedication…you consistently continue to inspire me!!!! Can’t wait to CO!

