Getting Technical With It, Part I

GTWI12

Over the past 2 weeks, I have been working hard on a very simple and basic fingerless glove pattern. I scheduled to release the pattern about a week ago, but then changed my mind.

I did not have the feeling it was ready to be released yet and decided to go another route.

My initial plan was to release the pattern in sportsweight gauge. My new plan is to release the pattern in three different gauges: Worsted -, sports-, and sock weight.

Also, several people have been asking on how I go about designing and writing a pattern. And I would love to talk some more about that too.

So let’s get crackin’.

Starting with a basic form for a fingerless glove design

The easiest and simplest basic for a fingerless glove is a rectangular form. Simply knit a rectangular, fold it over, seam it up on the sides, and leave an opening for your thumb. Easy does it.

My fingerless glove patterns, Denaedin, Emanelle, Adrienne and Sally are all based on that construction.

That wasn't too hard, now was it YAY completely done! DSC_1612 JK5

However, the human body is not rectangular but curvaceous. And with simply applying decreases and increases, you can make a knitted piece curve. The trick is where exactly to place those increases and decreases.

In the following picture, you might not think  increases and decreases are applied to the glove, but they are. How else can it fit so perfectly over one’s hand and fore arm?

Striped Long Fingerless Gloves

The basic form for my fingerless glove with curves I have determined to look like this on paper:

GTWI18

And it looks like this knitted up, before and after you seam it:

GTWI19 GTWI20

Now that I have determined the basic form of my fingerless glove, I am ready to tackle several other design challenges. But before we are going to touch that topic, I would like to make a sidestep to stockinette stitch and its rolling character.

On how Stockinette rolls!

GTWI1

To create the stockinette stitch, you knit a whole row on the right side, and purl a whole row on the wrong side. It creates a pattern in which you see those  “v” looking stitches on the right side.

The one thing that stockinette stitch does, is rolling. Don’t ask me why, it just is what it does. It rolls like crazy.

There is a way though, to somewhat tame this rolling character and to make it go flat.

GTWI1 GTWI2

This is how you do it:

Step 1: Soak your piece in cold water, then gently squeeze the water out.

Step2: Lay your piece flat on a towel, then totally wrap it in the towel.

GTWI16 GTWI17

Step 3: push with both your hand on the towel so it will soak up all the excess water. Then gently peel your piece of the towel and lay it flat to dry.

GTWI15 GTWI14

This process is called “Wet Blocking”. Easy, yeah?

Now mind you that Stockinette has a pretty strong character. You may tame her, but after a while she will roll into her old ways. Luckily with our fingerless glove, she won’t because we are going to stitch her up at the sides!

Okay. End of sidestep. Let’s continue with designing.

Several designing options

GTWI13

Now that we have determined the basic form and basic stitch for the pattern, we can think about many other design options. It is kind of like building layers, one step at a time.

Several questions need to be answered:

  1. How long do I want my glove to be? 12 inch or 14 inch for example?
  2. After I have determined how long it will be, how much yarn would I need?
  3. Oh hey, uhm… in what weight am I going to make this pattern? Chunky, worsted, sports, dk, fingering, sock or lace?
  4. Shall I put in a ribbing yes or no? Or shall I keep it minimalist?
  5. Will I throw in a stitch pattern? If so, which one? Lace? Brioche? Cable?

See how plentiful the options are? And it does not stop. Even more questions will surface.

But, always keep in mind: tackle one question at a time! And also, now begins the fun part. Playing around with several different yarns!

GTWI6 GTWI5 GTWI4

Oh boy, this post is getting way to big. I think I have to break it up in several parts…

Okay, here’s what I am going to do: there is going to be a part II where I discus the many yarns I worked with in order to finalize my  pattern writing. Okay?

Don’t worry, I will not let you wait so long. Part II will be posted tomorrow. I PROMISE.

Thanks for reading and until tomorrow!

4 Responses to Getting Technical With It, Part I

  1. Tina says:

    The suspense is killing me!!! I love your patterns and can’t wait to see the outcome of your latest one.

  2. […] is optional. You don’t have to. But in case you would like to, click here to see […]

  3. Lulu says:

    WOW! I am quite impressed with your thoughtfulness and talent. Your willingness to share your work and your pattern and the abundant generosity of spirit you display here–that is most uncommon. I cannot wait to try this pattern. Please count this girl as your fan!

