Luster and Grandeur

Luster and Grandeur3

Waiter: “Haven’t seen you in a very loooong time! Where have you been?”

Me: “Yeah…must have been over 4 years ago since I was here last. I live in America now.”

Waiter: “Well, good for you… so, still the usual for you? Tea or hot coco?”

Me: “Woah! I am amazed you still remember me AND my usual order!”

Waiter: “Sweetie, how could I forget you? You were here every single Sunday for several years.”

Grand Cafe “Eerste Klas” (First Class)

Luster and Grandeur2

Situated in the very very busy trainstation “Amsterdam Centraal”, on platform 2b, one can find one of  the most beautiful Grand Cafes of Amsterdam: Grand Cafe First Class.

When a boyfriend brought me here for the first time many years ago, I was simply stupified by this immensily chique and old world luster and grandeur establishment.

Me and the boyfriend parted, but I never let go of First Class. During my years of studying Economics, I spent every single Sunday from early in the morning until early evening in this magnificent venue. Studying hard, working on assignments and papers, and writing many essays.

And the nice waiters, always left me be, even if I would order only a cup of tea or a hot coco.

Grand Cafe Americain

Luster and Grandeur7

Another of my favorite Grand Cafes is Cafe Americain which is part of the American Hotel, situated at the Leidseplein.

It is a venue were I used to have a cappucino, and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Many a time, I would meet a friend here and we would chat away about our studies and simply life.

I adore the art deco style lamps…sigh…

Luster and Grandeur9

Amsterdam has many beautiful Grand Cafes. I especially like their high ceilings because I always have the feeling that ideas and inspiration can then soar freely !

As for knitting

Luster and Grandeur6

Lookie what I found in one of Amsterdam’s many little hip shops: bottle cozies with flowers on them. All knitted of course. And they are called “Bottle Bloom”. So sweet!

This product has been put on the market by YL design.

And lookie what I saw in another window:

Luster and Grandeur10

Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend! One of my favorite yarns!

I have been knitting just a tiny little bit. I am way to busy with my family, connecting with old friends and taking in Amsterdam’s essence.

To calm down of all the excitement I knitted a pair of Sally Gloves…

Luster and Grandeur1

Oh! And I also met up with Stitch ‘n Bitch Amsterdam knitters! That was so much fun…

I will write more about that in another post, y’all…

Thanks for reading and until the next entry!

3 Responses to Luster and Grandeur

  1. Jenni says:

    Oh! Nancy how wonderfull! The moment that you think you are blending in to the world around you someone, some gester of such a large magnatued goes unforgotten! You are simply unforgetable. This story brought goose bumps to my skin and a tear in my eye. I love that waiter with out have ever meeting him. It all looks so new and inspiring! Xo

  2. Susan says:

    Stitch ‘n Bitch in Amsterdam–what a crack up! Sounds like you are having a wonderful time.

  3. Vanessa says:

    Thanks for sharing your adventures with us. Looks like you are having a wonderful trip. Amsterdam really seems like a special and inspiring place!

