My Sweet Amsterdam…

MyAmsterdam14

After a feverish and sleepless night, i stubbornly decide to head downtown. No fever and no withering jetlag is going to keep me from reuniting with my old love. My sweet Amsterdam…

I heart Amsterdam, I heart it so much.

I heart your small and narrow streets:

MyAmsterdam2

I heart your small and narrow but oh so charming cafes:

MyAmsterdam8

I heart your old world narrow houses alongside the canals and bridges:

MyAmsterdam1

And I heart all the bikes…

MyAmsterdam11

And I heart your little hidden canals:

MyAmsterdam12

Dear, dear reader… I am so taken by nostalgia right now. Tears well up in my eyes as I am writing this.

Amsterdam is like a long lost love, who I can finally embrace tightly. How I have missed you.

After walking around in a nostalgia daze, I pick out one of the many many little cafes to have a cup of coffee. Almost immediately I make friends with a sweet little dog, who so quitely lay on a bar stool in front of my table.

MyAmsterdam15

We made eyecontact and she told me her name was Rocca. Then for the rest of the afternoon me and Rocca sat next to eachother and watched the world go by.

DSCN2894

As for yarn and knitting

You guys, I found this charming little yarnshop right in the centre of Amsterdam! It is called “de Afstap” and it simply took my breath away!

It is situated on the ground floor of the building on the far right:

MyAmsterdam3

It is so small and so sweeeeet!

MyAmsterdam5

Monday, I will be heading back to this sweet yarnshop and I will ask the owner if she would be willing to do an interview with me. Fingers crossed!

I already have arranged an interview with a very interesting and vibrant woman, who has done a lot for the knitting community in the Netherlands. More information on that later.

Last Monday, my visit to the Stitch ‘n Bitch Amsterdam fell through because of snow. But this Monday, i will for sure hang out with the knitters of Amsterdam!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas!

Thank you for reading and until the next entry



5 Responses to My Sweet Amsterdam…

  1. Jenni says:

    I heart you! I heart Rocca! I heart day dreaming of visiting all your heart places!

  2. Punkin says:

    It is so lovely! Wish I could be there, too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Joanne says:

    It’s been more than a decade since I was last in Amsterdam and I miss it. Thank you for my virtual visit. I look forward to hearing more.

  4. Denise says:

    I was only in Amsterdam once for a few days but I loved it too would like to go back especially now that I would be more confidant in simply exploring..

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Wish I were there with you. Miss you here…

