Muddling Through Summer

Lately, I have been feeling very blah… My usual happy and positive spirits are at a low point and I have been having sleepless nights.

I knew this whole heritage thing was going to be difficult but I never realized that it would weigh that heavy on me.

I have been reading several reserach papers online, and even had intense e-mail contact with one of the researchers.  I found out things about the Dutch during colonial times, and it is not making me happy.

Still, I need to dig deeper and read some more. It is for my own peace of mind. I have to push through!

Back to knitting

MTS14

Have you all seen the new Rowan Magazine #46? I am so tickled by it, and believe me, it has been a while since any of the handknit magazines tickled me.

In this issue, Rowan certainly does not disappoint, I purchased it immediately and this beauty of a stole is my favorite “traditional” piece.

MTS15

Made out of Kidsilk Haze and a beauty of geometrical lace, this piece called Chartwell by designer Sarah Hatton just takes my breath away. How classy…

Also very very interesting to me is a section about Rowan Design Awards in which several pieces of designers are showcased. Here are some of my faves:

This piece by designer Dulcie Wanless, made out of Kidsilk Haze is something I covet..

MTS11

This bright and ingeniously knitted and braided piece by designer Vibe Lundemark is simply stunning! Rowan Big Wool is used:

MTS12

But the one piece that made me buy the magazine without skipping a heartbeat is this delicate gossamer design by Fabienne Gassman. She handknitted this with Kidsilk Haze;

MTS13

I wish there were more handknit magazines that would highlight handknitting pieces like these. And if there are ever handknit patterns with designs with this sesnsibility and quality, I will be the very first knitter to purchase it.

Organizing and getting back to knitting

MTS2

My yarn room or when I want to sound important my yarn studio has been such a huge mess. It is just atrocious but luckily my husband came to the rescue.

Before shelves in my yarncloset:

MTS1

and after shelves in my yarncloset:

MTS5

Yay..!

During sorting out my stuff I bumped into some unfinished projects and figured it was time to get on them again!

I finished a cashmere scarf for my father in law. I used my own Tristan Scarf pattern for this one:

MTS3

I just love this scarf. I am addicted to its stitch pattern, it has become my staple stitch in many designs!

Remember my Lady Eleanor Stole I made a couple of Summers ago?

Sari Style 2

I still needed to do the knotting…ugh…but I finally started one side! I used my ruler to keep it all straight:

MTS8 MTS9 MTS10

Yikes. No fun. But the results are beautiful. Now if I only can find the will power to do the other side too…sigh.

I hope I am not the only one procrastinating with finishing up certain projects? Right..? Right..?

Okay, that’s it for now. I hope you are all doing well this Summer. Sorry, I haven’t been posting as much lately… hope you understand…

Thanks for keeping coming back here and reading my entries!

4 Responses to Muddling Through Summer

  1. Summer is like that. I’m finally getting some knitting done. Lots to do before Sock Summit!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    There are many of us still reading and wishing you the best, Nancy. Maybe the newly organized studio and some cooler weather (at some point) will bring inspiration.

  3. Vanessa! says:

    Miss your posts. It’s been awhile! Hope you’re doing well!

  4. Rebecca Z. says:

    I, too, miss your posts and wonder if you’re well.

