Many rivers to cross

mountain and river

In the year of 2001, when I came to the realization that my life was not going the way I wanted it to go, I fell in a deep depression. I took action and quit my corporate business job, decided to also quit my Economics Studies, broke up with my boyfriend and distanced myself from my family and friends.

It was a hard time for me.

I remember how one of my ex-co workers sent me a card and this is what she wrote:

“Nancy, you are embarking on a difficult journey in which you have a lot to overcome. Girl, you will have many rivers to cross, but please know that there are many bridges that will get you were you need to be.

It will be a long and difficult journey, but in the end it will be all worth it.”

And a long and difficult journey it was, dear reader. And my co-worker was right. In the end it has been all worth it.

Arriving at a place where I feel comfortable

Maple Dewdrop

Yes indeed I have crossed many rivers. I have even crossed that big huge pond when I left Amsterdam, the Netherlands, to come to the United States of America and marry the man I met on the Island of Bali.

I have followed my heart and it brought me here where I am today. That sounds very romantic, and in many ways it is, but in also so many ways it is not.

Leaving all that is known to you, to build a new life in a new country from scratch, is a huge river to cross.

I am very happy to tell you that I finally have arrived at a place where Past, Present and Future all have come together. And at this very point, where Past, Present and Future are presented to me in a clear way, I have come to the realization that more than ever I feel comfortable in my own skin and am ready to show you more of myself.

Feeling empowered because of YOU.

SB1

This blog is mainly about yarn and knitting, but dear reader, I have so much more to write about. I have so much more to say and I have so much more to show you.

And I am ready to do that now, because I have arrived at this amazing energetic figurative place in my life, where everything makes perfect sense.

Thanks to YOU, I realize that what I have to say has meaning.
Thanks to YOU, I realize that my words are heard and being read.
Thanks to YOU, I realize that I am able to inspire .

And that my dear reader, is a very empowering feeling. For giving me that, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Taking this blog to the next level

HWGA5

When I told you in my last post that my blog needs a different look, it forced me to really take a good look at myself.

I won’t bug you with what came up after some self analysis. That I will share in a later post.

What I will tell you right now is that I have been talking to a Web Developer and Web Desinger at the company Bottman Brothers, here in Portland.

With their help I am building an “inspirational vehicle” and I cannot wait to take you to many many fun places, and to share with you many inspirational stories.

I am SO READY to take my work to the next level, and look forward to do this together with YOU!

I would like to make it known that any feedback that you have for me is GREATLY APPRECIATED. Positive as well as negative feedback from you I welcome with open arms. It will help me formulate in what model I will build this “inspirational vehicle”.

So… give it to me STRAIGHT. I can handle it. But please don’t make me cry.

THIS IS SO EXCITING!!!!

Thanks for reading and until the next entry!!!!

Yours truly, and forever thankful, 

Nancy Ricci

 

 

 

5 Responses to Many rivers to cross

  1. You go, girl! Sounds like you’ve come a long way, and you are going far.

  2. jenni says:

    WAHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! YOU ROCK IT SISTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Susan says:

    Can’t wait to see what’s next…

  4. Sarah Hughes says:

    You seemed like a spirited person, and my sister and I were both excited to be around your energy. I look forward to being around you energy more when I moved to Portland!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Many Rivers to Cross…one of my favorite songs. It’s funny…those strands of yarn reminded me of a river or stream when I first saw them. I can’t wait to see (and read) what’s next!

