Got Gauge..?

GG4

I am a swatcher… big time. Before I start a sweater I am known for making at least two swatches with different needle sizes.

Not only do I make my swatches, I also wash them and then measure my gauge again after my swatches are dry. 

I will not leave anything to chance, I have to get gauge, and I will go out of my way to get it before I start on a big project for a sweater. I feel more secure and comfortable and believe that swatching promises a succesful sweater project.

But I got lazy… very lazy. With the current sweater project I am working on, I did not do a swatch and lulled myself into believing that it would be okay. I did not even check along the way if my gauge was spot on. I just assumed everything was just fine…

Eh…

I am working on another Textured Tunic because I love this sweater so much and of all the sweaters that I made, I wear it the most. I wanted my second one exactly to be as my first one:

Finished Textured Tunic!

Only this time I wanted to make it in the color black and instead of using the yarn Royal Tweed by Lana Grosa, I decided to use the yarn Margrite Bulky by Karabella. Both yarns state that they have the same gauge, so I thought I would be just fine and casted on exactly the same amount of stitches as my first sweater and also used exactly the same needlesize.

Uh oh… look what happened:

GG1

Rats..! Came out smaller!

Analyzing after the fact

So let’s analyze what happened here so that you learn from what I did wrong.

The pattern states that my gauge should be 13 stitches over 4 inches in stockinette stitch. I was spot on gauge with my first sweater.

However, on my second sweater, for which I did not do a gauge swatch (bad Nancy), I have a gauge of 15 stitches over 4 inches.

When you have more stitches than the gauge of the pattern calls for, your garment will come out smaller!

So instead of 13 stitches over 4 inches, my gauge yield 15 stitches over 4 inches. Allthough it is only 2 stitches off, it can have consequences for your garment.

So now what?

See, even a seasoned knitter like myself makes mistakes. And it is okay. My black sweater will fit me snugger than I have wanted to, but oh well, I just take into consideration that it will relax out after several wears.

At least it still fits me.

So, I am leaving it like it is and embrace my mistake. 

GG2

Apart from my little gauge issue, I have to say, the Margrite Bulky is delicious beyond belief. Apart from the great stitch definition it is heavenly cashmerily soft, has a beautiful sheen to it, and just makes this knitter purrrrr like a little kitten.

GG3

Try it one time. You will not regret it.

Thank you for reading and until the next entry!

 

3 Responses to Got Gauge..?

  1. anotheryarn says:

    This entry is so cute and true – gauge can be a tricksy thing, it has bit me a few times.

  2. Gauge bites me, often! Even if I swatch, just the way I hold my needles between swatching and the actual knitting can be way different. Sometimes I have to say that I made a big swatch by starting the sweater and then ripping it out…

  3. […] interview, Nancy always starts with a swatch. Except when she doesn’t. Confused? Read this recent post by Nancy and you’ll understand what I […]

