Easy Breezy Lace

EBL1

Pattern: Flared Lace Smoke Ring by 
Yarn: 1 skein of Pashmina by Josep Galler
Needles: Lace Addi’s circ 24″ US 5 and Addi’s circ 16″ US 5
Cast on date: January 25, 2009
Cast off date: January 29, 2009

I simply adore my little Lace Smoke Ring… It was such a pleasure to work on this little project, I just couldn’t stop knitting!

I made a small and short version because I had only 170 yards of yarn and the pattern calls for 350 yards of yarn. These are my modifications:

  1. Instead of casting on 168 stitches and starting with chart A, I skipped Chart A alltogether and moved directly to Chart B.
  2. Because I start with Chart B, I casted on 156 stitches and disregarded the very first decrease in the first round.
  3. According to the pattern, one has to knit Chart A once, Chart B once, Chart C once and then finally Chart D several times untill the piece measures 18″. I however did Chart B twice, Chart C twice and Chart D I repeated untill I ran out of yarn.

Am I happy with the result?

EBL3

I am happy with the result, however, next time I will make the cowl narrower. Allover, the pattern is repaeted 12 times and next time I will repeat the pattern only 10 times. 

Also with my second cowl, I will skip chart A and also chart B because I don’t want it to flare so much… When it flares that much, I feel like I am wearing a bib!

Tools make all the difference

EBL4

For this lace project I used the Lace Addis. Really, it makes such a huge difference when you are knitting lace. The tips are elongated and very pointy, the joints are like always with Addi needles, so incredibly smooooth. Ah, it really helped enormously to make this project go as smooth as possible!

How did I find the lace pattern itself?

EBL2

The lace pattern itself is a 8 round repeat stitch with a multiple of 10 basic stitches. What really makes this pattern interesting to me are the big fanning eyelets caused by double yarn overs. So incredibly pretty…sigh.

Also, basically this is a rib based pattern with regular purls but lots of knitting through backloops. This causes the knit stitches to pop and by doing so, it creates very distinctive knit stitches. I simply adore that!

The very first 8 rounds gave me a hard time and it took me awhile to get acquainted to the pattern. As difficult as it was at the start, just as easy it became after the first 8 rounds. So easy that I did not have to look at the pattern on my sheet!

Next to the Feather and Fan and Horse Shoe Lace pattern, this is the third lace pattern I find incredibly easy to knit. Simple and fast, yet extremely elegant. Minimum effort for maximum effect. I LIKE THAT!

For those who shop at CloseKnit’s, I am happy to report that Sally decided to order the Flared Lace Smoke Ring. When she saw me working on the pattern, she liked it so much that she had to have it in her shop! 

Thanks for reading and until the next entry!

5 Responses to Easy Breezy Lace

  1. Amy says:

    Well done, Nancy. It looks beautiful, and I’m sure it feels fantastic.

  2. Susan says:

    Gorgeous! It must feel heavenly on your neck.

  3. Joansie says:

    I just found your blog through Renna. Love your cowl. I’ve knitted several and never get tired of knitting them. Ok, I’m off to check out the rests of your posts.

  4. […] Knit). We both seemed to be on the same wavelength with these projects and Nancy has taken the lace cowl to new heights. Nancy is a master knitter who also had an interesting post about working with black […]

  5. Mrs MJW says:

    You have quite the eye for some beautiful yarn. Lovely stuff.

