Flared Lace Smoke Ring

FLSR1

I was able to get my hands on the Flared Lace Smoke Ring by Jackie Erickson-Schweitzer… I was thrilled beyond belief when I came home and felt like a child who just got her favorite toy!

Excited as I was, I quickly casted on my Qiviut yarn and was well on my way. This little voice in the back of my head said: “Listen, this is Qiviut you are working with. Shouldn’t you do a test knit first with some other yarn to get acquainted to the lace pattern?

Of course I did not listen. And of course I got into big trouble…

You see with knitting lace you really have to be familiar with the pattern. You need to know where you are within the pattern so that you can catch yourself when something goes wrong. 

It’s like being in a new city. You don’t know you way around and you are kind of lost. Whereas when you are in a city you know well, you can correct yourself immediately when you make a wrong turn. Or you know exactly what cross street is next. You can navigate well and you know exactly where you are.

Well let me tell you…I got lost in the pattern…terribly lost and I messed up so badly, and the delicious Qiviut was so thin and fuzzy and got so terribly entangled that I could not save the part I had been knitting with. 

Dang it… that’s what you get when you don’t heed the voices in the back of your head!

Getting familiar with the Flared Lace Smoke Ring Pattern

I quickly casted on again with some red DK weight scrap yarn, and bravely started anew. It took me several attempts but after a while I finally got it!

FLSR3

Afraid though to waste more expensive Lace Qiviut , I decided to work with another, slightly heavier yarn: Pashmina by Joseph Galler.

I am happy I switched. I can see better what I am doing and I can practice on the Pashmina. It’s simply DELICOUS…

FLSR4

I am very happy with my project now. The pattern is simply gorgeous and once you get past the first 8 rows it’s easy breezy!

FLSR6

Accidental Beanie

If I may make a suggestion on a terrific lace hat pattern: you all should knit the Spring Beret by designer Nathalie Larson!

It is so much fun to knit, I really enjoyed it. 

My first one came out too slouchy but on second thought, I kind of like it now… 

FLSR7 FLSR8

By the time I came to terms with my first Spring Beret I had already casted on to make the smaller version. I planned on doing 3 lace pattern repeats instead of 4. However, I ran out of yarn and was forced to knit a meager 2 lace pattern repeats…

The outcome was an accidental beanie! Too funny… 

FLSR9

Guess what. I don’t like beanies! So I will give it to somebody who does.

Thanks for reading and until the next entry…

4 Responses to Flared Lace Smoke Ring

  1. Emilee says:

    Smoke Ring is going to be gorgeous!

  2. vanessa.e says:

    wow!! I LOVE both of these projects. you’re knitting up some great stuff. I am tempted to start that scarf, but just cast on for a lace camisole. better get knitting!!

  3. naomidagenbloom says:

    Actually, as my grandson says, actually, I like your Accidental Beanie. Made something similar a few years ago from a Vogue pattern…used Rowan cotton denim left over from my most successful vest.

    You look great in the color and style. When someone does the book, “Beanies across the Ages,” we can model ours!

  4. marie says:

    Hai Nancy, Alles goed met jullie met mij ook. Het is een prachtige sjaal. Wel mooi. Zou je mij het patroon willen toezenden zodat Edith het voor mij kan breien.
    Of misschien voor mijn moeder. Ik wacht op je raectie en als het niet gaat begrijp ik het wel. Succes met je brei carriere. Wanner kom je deze kant op?

    Veel liefs Marie

