In a Delightful Frenzy

In a Frenzy1

Ever since last October, I have been very busy working on writing patterns, getting patterns ready for printing, production knitting, product development/improvement, meeting with graphic designers and last but not least, working at the yarnshop.

I hardly have had any time to focus on new designs, flip through magazines and books for inspiration, buying new yarns and notions. But what I really missed the most is to just dream away, let my mind flow and be open for new ideas.

Well, let me tell you… over the past few days I have been making up for lost time, and have been collecting materials like crazy. 

As you can see in the picture above, my table is overflowing and my brain is in a delightful frenzy.

Come let’s take a closer look!

Inspiration through many many things…

What I simply cannot do without in my creative path are books and magazines. One of the most inspirational magazines has been “Selvedge”:

In a Frenzy3

And what would I do without fashion illustrator “Erte”?

In a Frenzy2

A must in my book collection would be “Deco, roaring ’20s fashions”, by Susan Langley and published by Schiffer. Oh the inspiration I get from this book is so plentyful it almost hurts.

Buttons

In a Frenzy7

Lately, I have been so encaptured by buttons. It all started when a forgotten button magically presented itself and inspired me to design my Sally Fingerless Gloves.

When I realized that buttons are a great inspiration for me and I dare say they will be the trademark of my future designs, the gates of Button Love opened and many a button have entered into my life.

In a Frenzy11 In a Frenzy6

So much beautiful yarn…

What would I be without my beautiful beautiful yarns? How they inspire me, talk to me, telling me what they want to become once touched by my hands and dreams.

In a Frenzy5

I would be nothing without yarn. They are my ultimate muse… I owe them a lot, these soft pretties.

In a Frenzy8 In a Frenzy9 In a Frenzy10

As you can see, I am all set for the next great design adventures. I am so excited, I can hardly stand it. In the next few weeks, I am going to dream away, hoping to find vehicles which will transport me to many dimensions of my imagination.

In these dimensions, I wish for many adventures so that I have beautiful stories to tell you, dear reader. May I also find inspiration to design and write pattens, I wish for it with my whole being! And above all, may I find joy and passion so that I can extend that to others.

What really put me in a frenzy

Over the past few years I have been very fortunate to work with a IBook G4. My faithful IBook has become somewhat old and slowly lost its spark. So much that all the letters of my keyboard had faded away and even worse, it would crash all the time.

Stoic as I am, I never complained and kept on going with my IBook…

Tonight, my husband called me to ask me if a package had arrived. I replied that I had been out all day and that I did not see a package on the front porch when I arrived home.

He told me to look for a package on the back porch. I did, screamed and almost lost it… See here what really really got me in a delightful frenzy!!!

In a Frenzy12

What a great way to start the new year. I feel so incredible lucky. I will never ever take for granted what is given to me. I count my blessings every day and say thanks for everything in my life.

Thank you for reading and until the next entry!

2 Responses to In a Delightful Frenzy

  1. Susan says:

    I am a button freak! Nothing finishes a garment, IMO, like a great button. Years ago I found this delightful little shop in London. They sold nothing but buttons, mostly vintage. I spent FOREVER in there. It’s a wonderful memory for me.

    MacBooks rock! I got mine a couple of months ago and I am still in love! Have fun!

  2. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Susan:
    Buttons have become my second love next to yarn. I frequent Button Emporium in downtown Pdx and spend hours and hours browsing… so much fun!

