Somebody pinch me…

nyc building3

Haloween, ThanksGiving, Christmas, New Year’s Eve…did it all really happen..? Oh boy, things happened so fast, I am still catching my breath. More importantly, I finally found a quiet moment to sit down and write.

Geez, Nancy, where in the world have you been?

Ah… for ThanksGiving I traveled to Minneapolis and only spent time on production knitting for the Ginger Suite Salon Holiday Party. Then all of a sudden and out of nowhere, Christmas Eve is staring me in the eye, I blink and I find myself on an airplane to New York City.

Oh yes, Santa has been very good to me… a trip back to were we used to live: Manhattan…

Lower East Side

T4

Our old hood, the Lower East Side in downtown Manhattan hasn’t lost its grimey charm. We were slightly worried that the coming of the yuppies would have made everything slick and polished but soon found out that our old friend has been true to it’s own self: grimey, dirty, no glitter and glamour whatsoever, but a character so street and colorful, bursting of no nonsense.

T3 T2

Remembering what it is all about

T7

At a party called Body and Soul we are reunited with loving friends who we haven’t seen in a very very long time. We danced, we laughed, we hugged and right there and then, while I am wrapped up in their love, I receive so many beautiful insights.

The open hearted energy of all my beautiful and colorful friends remind me of what it is all about: fearless love and inspiration. With every smile they give me, with every touch of their energy, they teach me to love, to inspire, to share, to be kind, to be open hearted, to be grounded and to be not afraid.

T1

Downtown Yarns in the Lower East Side

I just cannot believe I have passed Downtown Yarns on Avenue A so many times while I lived there without giving it the day of light. In my defense, I have to say, I was not a knitter back then. But still it baffles me.

It is a most charming little yarnshop with a very friendly dog:

downtown yarns

The ladies at Downtown Yarns were very nice and helpful. Be sure to visit if you are ever in the Lower East Side of Manhattan!

downtown yarns2

Other than Downtown Yarns, I haven’t visited any other yarnshop. Why not? Come on, now… you all know I can get my hands on every yarn I ever wanted at CloseKnit’s, don’t ya? Haha!

Happy New Year!!!

I would like to wish you all a happy happy 2009…

May all of your dreams come true,
May you be healthy,
May you and your loved ones live in peace,
May you look up, whenever times are getting difficult,
May you be satisfied with what you have,
May you be open hearted and kind, and receive open heartedness and kindness,

May you always remember to fearlessly love and inspire…

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry.

T6

2 Responses to Somebody pinch me…

  1. Nancy, This was fun to read from a NYC perspective. Gee, I haven’t been to Downtown Yarn in years–and only live uptown! Especially with the opening of Pearl Chin’s Knitty City on west 79th a couple of years ago. Would love to have your take on it from your next sojourn in the City.

    We’ll talk more about yarn shops and their continued survival when I see you next Wednesday.

    yours, naomi

  2. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Ah, Naomi, all I can think about is NYC… we miss it so much.

    See you Wednesday!

