The Stoic One Weeps

Several weeks ago one of our costumers at CloseKnit came into the shop to cancel her participation in my fingerless glove class. Once the costumer realized that I was the teacher of the class she had just cancelled, she profusely apologized to me and wondered if I was offended. I can honestly say, I was absolutely not offended at all!

My boss then turned to the costumer and said: “Really, we have yet to find out what offends Nancy. She’s pretty stoic.”

My boss’ statement about me being stoic, made me pause. It made me pause because what was said about me being a stoic person is in fact true.

On the contrary of other knitting blogs I keep my private life pretty private. Rarely do I write about my husband and there is not one picture of me and my beloved one. That does not mean I dearly love him, my love for him is deeper than one could detect on my blog.

Also, I do not talk about politics or world economics. That does not mean I am not moved or not deeply affected of what is happening all around us… I just choose not to write about these things… however, this stoic one is not so stoic in the end…

Weeping like a baby

Last Tuesday I was knitting on one of my latest designs. I knew that on that particular night the president-elect would be announced but because the pressure was just too high for me to handle, I sat down in my creative room and knitted away.

Then suddenly, I heard my neighbor Tim cheer and shout in our street and I knew instantly who had been elected. Shortly after Tim’s cheering, I heard church bells, people cheering in the streets, fireworks and cars honking their horns.

I lay down my knitting… and I wept. I wept like a baby.

My husband who was out of town for work, texted me: “Go outside and hug somebody, baby!”

However, that is not my style. I staid inside the house and wept and wept…of happines and relief.

This stoic knitter does have feelings

Regular readers of this blog must remember that last winter I took a long break from blogging. It is time for me to confess what was the main reason for my long break.

By that time I had released several free patterns on my blog. Those were all patterns I had spent many hours working on, test knitting, writing the pattern, creating a pdf. file, some more test knitting and photography.

I put in some hard work people… and many hours!

When I noticed on my blog statistics that my patterns were downloaded over 400 times I was quite surprised. However, I was even more surprised that only a handfull of people took the time to say “thank you”.

I have never said a word about this on my blog because, yes, I am pretty stoic. Truth however is that I was pretty hurt. Here I am, working hard on designs, testknitting, writing patterns, issueing them for free… and hardly any comments saying “thank you”.

I realize now, that you are thankful

Once I got over the disappointed of not having too many comments of gratitude I realized that knitters ARE THANKFUL for free patterns. Since then, many knitters have come into the shop and expressed their gratitude to me.

Also, for the knitters who have left me comments of gratitude and/or linked to my blog, thank you so much for your positive feedback! It really makes me smile, smile, smile!!!

And for those who haven’t left me comments, I know that you are thankful. But I also want to encourage you to leave comments whenever you use or download a free pattern from kind and very generous knitters in blogland. Really, it makes a huge difference.

The best feedback…ever…

I would like to end this post with feedback from a knitter named Chloe. Her comment made me cry… for real.

I am so happy that Chloe took the time to write me… this is what she wrote:

Although I learned to knit as a teenager, I never knit anything other than scarves and baby blankets. That is until my granddaughters saw the pictures of your lovely fingerless gloves and begged me to knit them each a pair.

I promised to give it a try as I haven’t knitted for many years.
Thanks to your wonderful instructions and tutorials, I was able to knit up 10 pair of Emanelle for my daughters and granddaughters. They loved them and I enjoyed learning to knit again using your great pattern.

I plan to knit 10 pair of Denaedin for them for the coming winter.

Thank you so very much for your easy to understand directions.
So easy, that this 82 year old could figure it all out and end with perfect fingerless gloves 10 times.”

My gratitude is huge

When I started this blog in april 2007, barely 10 people would visit on a daily basis. Now, more than a year later, I get over a 150 hits a day.

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart. I would have never ever thought that there would be any interest in what I have to say or what I am knitting on.

My gratitude is huge… beyond belief.

Thanks for reading and until the next entry!




12 Responses to The Stoic One Weeps

  1. Marianne says:

    Hi Nancy, I’m so glad to see that you are doing wel !
    I haven’t visited your blog in a while because I have been extremely busy, I recently started working as a volunteeer with the “Dierenambulance”. I enjoy it so much !
    I don’t see you as a stoic person, on the contrary, you seem like a very thoughtful and caring person to me in the way you write on your blog.
    I’m very happy for you that you had such a nice comment on your blog from Chloe, you so deserve this after putting so much work into writing up the tutorials and patterns.
    I’ll be back !

  2. Susan says:

    We all want to be appreciated and I believe we only give when we give unselfishly. This is so hard to do at times but you are a shining example of it.

    Thank you for reminding us to thank those who give of themselves. It’s something I need to do more of, and I actually went back through some of your old posts to make sure I HAD thanked you.

    I do understand that you are a private person, but next time I am in Portland (where my stepson lives) I’d sure like to stop by the shop and give you a great big hug!

    I also cried on Election Night, then I drank a lot of champagne in celebration!

  3. anotheryarn says:

    I also want to give you a great big hug after reading this. Let me know if you ever want or need one🙂

  4. pdxWoman says:

    Hugs for Nancy!! I’m so grateful for you and all the encouragement and kind words you give me!

    Your post made me cry, but in a good way. I was at a party with a couple thousand people on election night and I cried, too🙂 It was a good time for us all to cry happy tears together, even if we weren’t in the same room.

    I don’t see you as stoic, but I suspect your boss was referring to the self-restraining aspect of stoicism, not the indifference and lack of passion. You have never struck me as someone who lacks feeling…you’d never be such a considerate and caring person if you were truly stoic.

    Thanks for all your kindnesses!

  5. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Marianne, Susan, Anotheryarn and PdxWoman:

    Thank you so much for reaching out and commenting. Your kind words make me float and smile.

    You ladies are GREAT..!

  6. Odette says:

    STOIC: somebody impassive: somebody who is unemotional, especially somebody who shows patience and endurance during adversity.

    Hello Nancy, I think stoic is a little strong – reading you reaction to Barak Obama’s success is definitely not one of a stoic. BTW – I wholeheartedly agree!

    I have printed out your pattern for Adrienne, many thanks. It will be fun to knit. I have a small suggestion – I notice that you put in a number of links for knitting assistance, but it would be so useful if you could post your own glossary of stitches that one could just print up as needed.

    Thank you again for the pattern.
    o/

  7. Renna says:

    Nancy, you may be stoic, but you’re one of the truly nicest people I’ve met via blogs. I am not at ALL surprised you’re getting 150 hits per day, and that figure will likely triple in the next year. You do have much of interest to say, and your talent which you share is nothing less than amazing. 🙂

    I was very moved by the letter you shared of the grandmother knitting your gloves. That is awesome!😉

  8. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Odette: You are so welcome! Thanks for your feedback about the glossary…

    Renna!:
    Good to hear from you..! I always smile when I see a comment from you…
    Hope you had a great trip with Mr. Studly🙂

  9. Rachel says:

    Hi Nancy,
    Your fingerless gloves are so beautiful! Remember the hat class we took together way back when? I’m still knitting hats and getting frustrated when I have to move from circular to DPNs. That probably explains why socks drove me crazy–plus they seemed like so much work for something that I would wear out instantly. So as much as I admire your beautiful patterns, it may be awhile before I’m ready to try them. You are remarkably generous to share your patterns for free. You have inspired me to try to create some of my own patterns in 2009–maybe some plus-size stuff.
    Rachel

  10. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Yes, I remember that class we took way back when, Rachel. A sock class and our first introduction to dpns!

    You are the one who told me about the teashop… I still drink the Pumpkin Chai Latte!

  11. Cynthia says:

    Hi Nancy,

    I hope that you continue to blog, to design patterns and help beginner knitter’s like myself. I was very inspired by all the lovely yarns, what people have created and all the wonderful color & energy of fiber arts.

    I visit the NW annually and live/work out in the remote and isolated but beautiful Southwest desert, so this connection w/other artisans is like an oasis to me🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing!!! I also was glad to see another Asian woman, when I met you & you were so helpful.

    Cynthia

  12. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Cynthia,
    Thank you for dropping me such a nice comment!

    Now help me remember… are you the one that is knitting the Adrienne gloves and you saw them in a yarnshop in Manzanita..?

    Anyways, tab on my shoulder next time you are back at our shop on Alberta Street, and tell me it was you who left me such a nice comment..!

    Until then, happy knitting and say hi to the beautiful SouthWest for me. I have been fortunate to visit, ABQ, Taos and also Sedona!

