Letting go and feeling glamorous

nank11

Last August, my neighbor Eric asked me if I could find him a cravat/short scarf to wear with his suit. He had one request about the material: 100% silk.

At the yarn store, I simply cracked my brain what to make for my neighbor and a slew of word associations danced around my brain: hard working man, suit, black BMW, impeccible and pristine appearance, polite, friendly and proud.

When my eye fell on Louisa Harding’s Mulberry Silk color black, I snapped my fingers because I had found the perfect match!

AOP10

It took me several weeks to complete Eric’s scarf. This sophisticated 100% black silk scarf has been with me through my insecurities in being a “designer”. This black silk scarf sat patiently beside me when my hands hurt so bad that I simply could not knit. This black scarf traveled with me to Pittsburgh, was touched and ooh-ed and aah-ed over by the Pittburgh knitters at Ewe Can Knit.

This black scarf was completed by me at the beginning of October, right at the time I started to offer my patterns for sale at CloseKnit.

And when I blocked it and it was ready to be handed out as a gift to my neighbor Eric, I simply could not part from it… Dear reader, the mere thought of detaching from this black scarf, saddened me beyond belief…

For days and days I held on to the scarf, debating whether I should keep it or not. And then, last Sunday, when I walked out of my house to get to work, I saw Eric and his family in front of their house. They were getting ready to go to church.

The sight of this beautiful family made me pause and I felt so thankful to have them as my neighbors. I rushed back into my house, carefully hung the black silk scarf over my arm, rushed back outside and handed it over to Eric.

And just like that I let go of it… and as I am writing this I realize that this black scarf is the very first knitted item I have had a hard time letting go of…

GlamKnits by Stefanie Japel…Smokin’ hot!

AOP1

It finally arrived at the store… GlamKnits by Stefanie Japel!!! Let me tell ya, it is simply FABULOUS. I am so incredibly excited about GlamKnits, it exceeded my expectations, and my expectations were high.

Once again, Stefanie nails it and I just cannot wait to make one of her delicious designs. The one that I am so lusting over is the Texturized Tweed Coat:

AOP3 AOP2

SWEEEEET!!!!

Regular readers of this blog know that I knitted two designs of Stefanie Japel (author of the book Fitted Knits) before and I can honestly say that Stefanie’s patterns are easy to read and to follow.

Once again Stefanie’s designs are very feminine and there are several designs I want to knit.

Congratulations, Stefanie!!! Just browsing through your book makes me feel so glamorous!

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry…

4 Responses to Letting go and feeling glamorous

  1. Renna says:

    Nancy, you have such a gift for storytelling. I loved the black silk scarf story, and I loved the ending!🙂

    I didn’t realize you’d started selling your patterns at CloseKnit. Congratulations!!!

  2. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Renna, your positive feedback helps me so much in my writing..!

    And yes, I started to sell my patterns at CloseKnit. I am very excited about that!!!

  3. Marleen says:

    Nancy~ I can understand how you felt about “letting go” of your black silk scarf you had knitted for Eric, it was very elegant and classy~ I am sure you made Eric feel very special with your warm gift~ As you stated we all “ahh and ohh’d over it and I knew I must make one, so I am making for the doorman at the Hilton which we talked about while you were visiting Pittsburgh.
    Several other knitters including Maghen are also making them.
    I agree with Renna, I love looking forward to your stories, you certainly have a unique way with words and a wonderful insight~
    When you get a chance will you send me the pattern for the cream belted fingerless gloves? I’m itching to make them~

  4. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Marleen, I am so happy you are making that same scarf I made for Eric!

    It’s good to hear that people are enjoying my little writings🙂

    I will send you the instructions as soon as I have written them up correctly… I promise.

