Browsing Magazines and Books

bmb9

For the past few days, I have been browsing all kinds of knitting magazines and knitting books.

For hours and hours on end I am flipping page after page, absorbing all the visuals and interesting information on knitwear, patterns, schematics and knitwear design. It is a very nice break from knitting, really, and I am thoroughly enjoying myself.

Magazines

Don’t you just love flipping through all kinds of magazines and get some inspiration?

This picture is a design from the magazine Linea Rossa #3 by the european yarn company Lana Grossa:

bmb10

Very classy, if you ask me. I have been drawn more and more to Lana Grossa’s knitwear designs lately.

I also find it very nice to browse the fasion magazines for knitwear. According to Instyle Fall 2008, chunky knits are going to be hot during autumn:

bmb12 bmb14

These sweaters are all very very expensive! $ 425 and $750, ooffff!!!

bmb13 bmb15

Oooh, I am having way too much fun!

Knitwear design books

On the books front I have been flipping through Vogue Knitting The ultimate knitting book, Designing Knitwear by Deborah Newton, Reader’s Digest Knitter’s Handbook and the knitter’s handy book of sweater patterns by Ann Budd…. to name a few.

bmb5 bmb7 bmb6 bmb8

But the one book I am most taken with is Sweater Design in Plain English by Maggie Righetti:

bmb4

I adore Righetti’s style of writing, her thoroughness and clearness in which she explains knitwear design is simply excellent. I am especially taken by what Righetti writes on page 85:

“Never accept the WORD of any expert without first checking it out yourself. Your experience may be different from mine, and that is okay. If you don’t check out the WORD of experts, you will be stuck with their foibles and fallacies.”

Also, more than once, Righetti’s style of writing makes this knitter chuckle. In a chapter on measurements and body types, she writes on page 53:

“You must learn to eyeball the figure. Ask yourself, are the breasts lemon-, orange-, grapefruit-, or cantaloupe-sized?”

If you are ever thinking about getting into sweater design, Sweater Design in Plain English is a must have. It is chockfull of information and written in a very easy to follow style. I like this book very much!

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry! Oh, and also thank you for all the nice compliments on Mata Hari… I so appreciate that!

8 Responses to Browsing Magazines and Books

  1. chrispy says:

    I love Sweater Design in plain English. I took it camping last year and spent the whole time chuckling to myself about stuff she said. I read the whole thing cover to cover.

    My husband sent me to the store this weekend to get stuff and I treated myself by buying a few fashion mags and I was baffled and intrigued. I was also disturbed by all the emaciated men modeling women’s fashion. I must say that a flip through the fashion mag got my creative juices flowing.

  2. Renna says:

    I don’t see myself progressing to the point of designing sweaters, but it’s fun to dream.šŸ˜‰ I cracked up at her description of ‘breasts’.šŸ˜‰

  3. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Chrispy, the only reason I purchase those “fashion” magazine is because yes, some designs do get my creative mojo going too.

    Just looking at some garments and kind of figuring out how I would construct a knitted piece is so much fun to me.

    I am by all means not a fashionista and allthough in many ways I do not feel comfortable in the way haute couture manifests itself, I am a great admirer of cleverly and beautifully constructed haute couture pieces.

    Designers like Fortuny, Paul Poiret and Coco Chanel I admire greatly.

    I have great respect for Maggie Rigetthi and I just cannot wait to finish her book.

  4. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Renna, yes, dream! I do it al the time… is so much fun, eh?

    Righetti is such a wonderful no nonsense writer… she makes me laugh all the time!

  5. vanessa e says:

    i love this past time! when i need some inspiration i have fun sitting in the local bookstore or library and flipping through craft books. I usually take one or two home with me, too!

    look forward to seeing what you make next! i’ve got to get back to my knitting soon too…

  6. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Vanessa, you have got to go back to your knitting soon… and I have got to go back to my sewing..! I only wish I had your sewing skills!

    But then again, maybe we coul inspire eachother, yes?

  7. Alex says:

    Heh…with the models in magazines these days, they’re all lemon-sized.

    I love flipping through magazines, although I get overwhelmed. Do you get that too?

  8. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Alex, today’s models lemon sized… Hahaha… They are grape sized if you ask me!

    Nope, never get overwhelmed when I flip through the magazines. I always scan them really quickly untill that one piece makes my heart go pitter patter!

    Often times though, I ask myself: It looks GORGEOUS on the model. But will it look good on me..?

