Onward to Bamboo

otb2

I have been wearing my Linen Summer Tunic for the past few days now… It feels so good, I just don’t want to take it off! I have been ironing it every single day too so that it shines so beautifully and it looks crisp and tidy! While ironing my top, my eye fell on two balls of yarn that have been living in my stash forever: South West Trading variegated 100% Bamboo….

Shiney and oh so drapy

My very first project with this wonderful bamboo yarn was my first feather and fan scarf. Remember this one?

Feather and Fan2

I had some of this bamboo leftover AND I had 2 balls of bright orange sitting in my stash. I decided to work with the orange color and I quickly made a swatch with the green leftovers.

This bamboo yarn is so delicious to work with… it is buttery soft, lofty, cool to the touch, drapy and oh so shiny. I simply love it and would recommend this yarn for summery tops anytime.

There is an important thing you should know though: this yarn grows in length considerably once you wash it! When I knit up my gauge swatch, it was 9.5 inch by 9.5 inch and after washing the dimensions were 8.0 inch by 11 (!) inch.

otb5

What to make with just two balls of South West Trading Bamboo?

otb1

I knew immediately what to make with this yarn. I want to make a close fitted and shorter version of my Linen Summer Tunic!

All of my calculations are based on the gauge swatch that I made. All the information I need is right there in the gauge swatch and I begin playing with the numbers. Let’s take a closer look:

otb7

My gauge is 6 st = 1 inch and my row gauge is 7 rows = 1 inch

First question is: How do you know how much stitches to cast on?

This top will be knitted bottom up. As you can see in the drawing, my upper hip circumference is 33 inch. My gauge is 6 stitches to an inch so: 6 stitches x 33 inch = 198 stitches. I round this number to 200.

Voila! My pattern starts with the following words: Cast on 200 stitches.

Second question: You will have to decrease from upper hip to waist. How do you know how much to decrease and with how many intervals?

Let’s look at the drawing again. My upper hip measures 33 inch, and my waist measures 28 inch. This entails that I have to decrease with (33-28=) 5 inch which equals 30 stitches.

I also know that per decrease row I will decrease 4 stitches at a time. So how many rows will I have to decrease in total? 30 divided by 4 = 7.5 I will round this to 7 rows.

This means that I will have to space 7 decrease rows over the length from my upper hips to my waist. Some more calculations show me that I have to write the following:

Knit 3 rows. On the 4th row decrease. Repeat this decrease row 6 more times every 4th row.

Anyhoo, I won’t bore you with more math, I just wanted to show you the first steps that I take in writing out a pattern.

I love quick knits!

This one is going to be a real quick one too… I started two days ago with this project and I am already half way! YAY!

otb3

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

2 Responses to Onward to Bamboo

  1. Alex says:

    Ahh, missy…you’re so quick! And you’re just going through all the summery fibers, eh? Linen, bamboo, then cotton? Silk?

    I love the blend of colors in that bamboo. Red, orange, a bit of gold. Really lovely.

  2. Marianne says:

    If this one will be just as pretty as the previous one it will be a winner too !
    I love the way this tunic looks on you !

