Bounce and Flounce

BF4

For the past few days, I have been playing around with Euroflax Linen. What fun we had together!

You all know by now that I love to make swatches. I want to get to know the yarn better, feel and see its character. Often times, I just make a swatch and then put it aside because my curiosity has been satisfied and it stops right there.

But every now and then, I am truly encaptured by a yarn. Euroflax is one of those yarns… it truly speaks to me… in a very seductive manner.

Playing with the material while phantasizing about a design

Me and Euroflax Linen have been fooling around for the last few days. I have knitted several swatches with different needle sizes. I also have washed the swatches several times and tossed them in the dryer several times… oh, it is just amazing how soft and pretty it comes out!

I held the swatches close to my body, see how it behaves… I danced with my swatches, just to see how it bounces and flounces… I stroked it gently and am amazed by its sheen and softness. Dear reader, I am in love.

BF1

Then comes the stage of phantasizing about what to make with this yarn… I have cracked my brain, flipped through several books and searched through numerous magazines. A kimono? A dolman type sweater? Maybe a tanktop? Long sleeves? Short sleeves?

This phantasizing and dreaming stage… love it…

Finally, I decided to make a A-line loose fitted tunic, with deep V-neck and no sleeves. I want it to bounce and flounce around my body!

So to the drawing table it goes and do the math to determine how much to cast on, where to decrease, where to cast off for armhole shaping and shaping of the deep V-neck. And when the figures all line up and all makes sense, I just want to do a happy dance.

BF3

I am very happy with my new project. I am simply in love and just can’t stop knitting…

BF7

On another note…

Have you by any chance seen the latest designs of Kim Hargreaves? Her latest book Nectar came out:

BF5

Hargreave’s design are timeless and so very classy as always. She is one of my favorite knitwear designers.

The one design that stole my heart is called Jasmine. I love it so much and seriously want to knit it!

BF6

To view all 21 designs click here. Go and take a look, you won’t be disappointed…

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

One Response to Bounce and Flounce

  1. Very inspirational blog. I love linen too, so far growing the flax and processing it, spinning and weaving. I have only used it natural, not dyed or bleached, and not tried knitting yet. I think I should give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration.

