Excited by Linen

Linen2

First of all thank you so much for all the nice comments on my top “Attitude”. It is so incredibly rewarding and so nice to receive compliments from other knitters!

Now that I have completed a project, it is time to dream about the next one… What next one? I still have so many unfinished projects! Yeah, yeah, yeah… I know…

Can I at least play with some yarn, then? Make a swatch? And just dream?

Euroflax by Louet: Wet Spun Linen

Linen1

I have never ever given it any thought. I have touched it, arranged it neatly in the yarnshop, sold it to costumers but never ever was I interested myself. That is untill yesterday.

When I passed by it, it just talked to me. I picked up a little skein and I just had to take it home with me!

At first this Euroflax by Louet seemed a bit harsh to the touch, but once washed with a bit of conditioner and then thrown in the dryer (yes, you read that correctly, just toss it in the dryer) with some fabric softener sheets, it is just fine to work with. And the sheen… it has a beautiful sheen to it!

I quickly handwound the skein into a ball and eagerly casted on… I just love the way it feels… it is cool to the touch, has a sturdy feel to it, and I am simply taken by this beautiful sportsweight linen…

Linen3 Linen6

Day dreaming about numerous possibilities

Ah… this stage in the creative process I like almost the best. Nothing is set in stone yet, all is still fluid and the possibilities plentiful.

What size needles to use for my swatches? Recommended needle size #2 to #3 or use a much bigger needle for a more open knit?

What garment comes to mind when knitting up my swatch? Tanktop? Tunic? Short sleeves? Long sleeves? Or no sleeves at all?

All I know at this stage is that I want a summery garment with an fairly open knit so that it will let in cool Summer breezes! Oh the thought of feeling the coolness of linen on my skin during a hot Summer’s day!

I want a garment that hangs freely and relaxed on my body, no tightness, no fittednes. It will be a leisurely garment, that has room for movement and of course it must have that elegant and feminine touch. Mandatory.

Now if you all will excuse me… I got some design brewing to do…

Linen4

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry!

3 Responses to Excited by Linen

  1. Marianne says:

    Wow, Attitude is so pretty ! And it suits you so well !
    How wonderful to see that all your hard labour really paid off🙂

    I have 3 skeins of flashing pink Euroflax waiting in my stashs. I always found it to harsh to work with so thanks for the tip on washing it first ! Now why didn’t I think of that myself ?

  2. Alex says:

    I hope that linen doesn’t give you quite as hard a time as Attitude did. What a great color aqua blue it is.

  3. Tiferet says:

    Lovely hint on washiing the Euroflax, Nancy. I’ve some sitting in my stash for a long time and I know the reason I haven’t used it is the feel on the hand. You’ve saved it from being banished forever! I have to tell you that your pictures and wonderings of what to do with your beautiful aqua tone Euroflax just scream KIMONO at me. I have a book out from the library on modern Kimono shaped garments, one with an open stitch that speaks to me for your yarn. Maybe something there for you? I’m off again, but when I get back I’ll check to see what marvelous thing you’ve come up with. Love

