Reconnecting with an old love

Kimono Shawl-Cheryl Oberle2

I bumped into a love from the past while I was cleaning out my yarnroom… We had parted ways about a year ago after I decided I wasn’t ready for a commitment. How thrilled I am to finally reconnect again! I simply picked up, were we had left and the rekindled love is just tickling my belly…

Kimono Shawl from the book Folk Shawls by Cheryl Oberle

I distinctively remember how I stared in awe at the Kimono Shawl from the book Folk Shawls by Cheryl Oberle, while I was perusing Eunny Jang’s blog for the first time a couple of years ago. I could not believe that one could make such intricate and breathtakinly beautiful patterns with just two sticks and some strand. Really, it was beyond me, newbie knitter that I was.

Right there and then, on the day that I first set eyes on Eunny’s Kimono Shawl, I promised myself that I would reach the level of honorable lace knitter. How convincingly determined I was, I also realized that I had to practice lace knitting and that baby steps were required.

My very first lace knitting adventures resulted in a feather and fan scarf:

DSCN9029

My second lace knitting adventure resulted in the double dayflower scarf:

Double-Dayflower3

After practising lace with lightworsted weight yarn and sportsweight yarn, I decided it was time to bring it down to lace weight yarn…

So you think you can knit lace?

I was in Minneapolis when I purchased my first lace weight yarn ever: Misti Alpaca lace in a dusk pink color. I tried hard to remember but I forgot where I was when I purchased Cheryl Oberle’s book Folk Shawls…

I endearingly smile when I think back how I bravely casted on 170 stitches with needle size #5. Really, I had no idea what I was getting into… and let me tell ya… it slapped me around.

Back then, I had absolutely no deeper insight in why I had to to a knit two together (k2tog) or a slip slip knit (ssk). And of course like any newbie lace knitter, I would make a yarnover (yo) to few or too many in a row only to find out that I was off pattern at the end of a row.

It was a frustrating experience and more than once I cried and threw my project fiercely in a corner! But then I would envision Eunny’s beautiful Kimono Shawl and my tears were quickly dried. One must suffer to reach utmost elegance and beauty…

Kimono Shawl-Cheryl Oberle1

After several days of knitting the Kimono Shawl, I was amazed by how far I had gotten but my frustration level was so high that I decided it was not worth it. I carefully tucked my project away and forgot about it for the next 12 months to come.

But… we are back together again now. And it feels so good…

Other knitting stuff

I knitted swatches from the yarn I talked about in my previous post:
RwaOL1

Those are Philosophy by Trendsetter and Tiziana by GGH. Both interesting yarns but the one that talks the most to me is Philosophy.

Right now I am knitting a swatch from Karabella’s Manipur, a ribbon laceweight.

Oh and the choli you might wonder? I bumped into some problems… don’t want to get into it now… too technical. It would bore you to death, trust me.

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

6 Responses to Reconnecting with an old love

  1. Chrispy says:

    I really like the Manipur. I also liked the Tiziana. But all that might change after the hang test. I will be reporting on my blog about the amount of drag or vertical stretch these yarns exhibit. Ribbon yarns tend to drag alot.

  2. Renna says:

    My knitting skills aren’t even in the same ballpark as yours, Nancy, but one thing I recently noticed while reorganizing my yarn was that some unfinished projects, which intimidated me into putting them aside, no longer intimidate me!

  3. Gail says:

    2. Gail Says:
    May 10, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Its so encouraging to hear about the project left in frustration,”its not worth it” rediscovered later when worth has redefined itself through experience. I’ve reached an age now that once seemed pathetically old and washed up. Imagine my surprise at how thoroughly I enjoy my discoveries and rediscoveries when they are stacked upon many layers of newbie experiences. Past experiences form the foundation of a more seasoned perspective, a new vantage point for my explorations. Sometimes I’m just flabbergasted that I’m not rebellious and young anymore (well too tired to be hugely rebellious anyway). “Not worth it” is relative over time.

  4. Alex says:

    I love that you came back to it after a year. You didn’t allow for it to keep you from lace shawl knitting. When I leave a project unfinished for a long time, I usually just rip it out in the end.

  5. Marianne says:

    I’m so happy for you that you have come to the point that this doesn’t scare you anymore. It proves once more how much you have grown !

  6. Mary Werner says:

    I like the feather stitch, where can I learn to do it.
    p.s. I made some fingerless gloves with the checker board stitch…super cute!
    Thanks,
    Mary “crotcheter turned knitter” Werner

