A Good Hair Day

AGHD2

(artwork by Brenda Dunn)

I have this thing with haircuts. When I see a lady with a stunningly beautiful haircut, I will compliment her and ask her who her hairstylist is

Back in Amsterdam I would have stacks and stacks of Hair Magazines and together with my roommate we would spend hours and hours browsing.

I often wondered what attracts me so much to beautifully done hair and I think it’s the lines and curves I am most mesmerized with. To me it is aestethically so pleasing; lines going harmoniously this way or that way, curves and waves perfectly lined up in feminine silhouettes.

With this in mind, it is no wonder that I very much like the work of artist Brenda Dunn:

AGHD3 AGHD4 AGHD1 AGHD2

I love love love, Brenda’s work. Go check out her cafe press online store by clicking here.

As for my own hair? Hairstylist Kassandra did a fine job, if I may say so. It is exactly what I wanted: flapper style bob cut with whisps on my cheekbones.

Hair1 Hair2

In exchange for her work, I knitted her the Portia hat by Louisa Harding. Good deal.

Kassandra3

As for Knitting

Regular readers of this blog might know by now that I tend to knit the same pattern multiple times. Remember the many Seattle gloves I did? And then the Sunset Beret, I knitted 4 of them in a row. What about the Lady Eleanore? I did two of them…

And now with the Portia hat… I did yet another one last week! This time I used Louisa Harding’s Kimono Angora:

AGHD9 AGHD10

I am sorry to say that I did not enjoy knitting with this yarn. Because of the angora, it is quite fuzzy and besides that it shedded like there’s no tomorrow. Every time I worked with it, I was covered in angora hair and boy did it make my eyes itch and tickle my nose!

Beautiful to look at, itchy to work with. No more angora for me from now on.

Interesting ribbon yarns

I would like to end this post today with some interesting yarn I got in the mail from Yarn of the month club which is coordinated by knitwear designer Sara Lucas.

I have been a member for a year now and I am always happy to receive little samples of yarns to try out. This particular batch was very interesting to me and I cannot wait to knit up little swatches.

This is Tiziana by GGH, a rayon/silk/nylon blend. Beautiful construction:
AGHD7

This is Manipur by Karabella yarns, 100% silk. Never seen such yarn before:
AGHD6

And this is Filosophy by Trendsetter, a cotton/polyamide blend. Woah… mesmerizing:
AGHD5

I am jonesin’ to knit these beauties up in swatches and see how they behave…

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

4 Responses to A Good Hair Day

  1. Renna says:

    Nancy, your new “do” looks darling on you. I’d say you each got a very fair deal. 🙂

    I tend to knit the same things over, too.

  2. Alex says:

    The new haircut is cute! Reminds me of Amélie, a bit.

    No more angora? Ever? Sad… I’ve only used one angora yarn (Classic Elite Lush), and I loved it. Not too sheddy, in my opinion.

  3. Marianne says:

    Nice haircut ! I really like how it’s done.
    Seems like you made a good deal with that.
    And angora ? No, don’t like it either. It sheds when you’re knitting with it AND when it’s finished.
    Ik heb echt een haarfobie, het wil nooit zoals ik het wil. Ik kan vaak heel jaloers kijken naar mensen met echt mooi haar, dat van mij is heel fijn en steil en wil maar 1 kant op, recht naar beneden, zucht….

  4. chayo says:

    Hi nancy: ))))) I love your hair cut. I need a good one badly!!!! Think she would like some pots????? I am home for only a couple of days then back to the bay area…Hope to see you soon!!!! Keep on Knitting…

