Looking up from my knitting needles

First-bought-yarn

It has been a little over 2 years since I first picked up knitting. I vividly remember my very first yarn I bought and I wrote about it way back when I just had started this blog.

I was so captivated by yarn and knitting and soon enough I decided that I wanted to demistify this mesmerizing craft. And so I did…

Over the past 2 years I have absorbed knitting knowledge like a thirsty sponge. I found myself buying all kinds of yarns, needles, notions, patterns and books… so many books!

I have been extremely focused on knitting and all there was to learn about knitting and yarn. Sure enough, several months after I learned how to knit I even knitted my own little fingerless gloves. And soon after that, I started to write out my little glove patterns.

books glove plethora BW3

I have explored lace knitting, sock knitting, sweater knitting, intarsia and cables.

firstbookmodernlace easy cruising heelflap1 Lana Grossa Royal Tweed

Heck, I even started to design and write my own sweater patterns…

Finished Choli Choosing Venezia Cascade Worsted

Allthough knitting still is my passion and absolutely #1 craft, I find myself pulled towards some other beautiful crafts out there. You may have noticed that at times, I buy fabrics and sewing patterns:

Vintage Patterns1 Dogwood Japanese Fabric

And as of late, I am very much drawn to paper… that looks like fabric.

Inspiring Paper Cutting out Shapes2

Uh-oh… I am in deep deep trouble… I can already see a paper stash and a fabric stash growing in my yarnroom! What is a crafty gal to do, eh?

Without exactly knowing where this all is leading to, I can say this with certainty: all of these mediums, yarn, fiber, fabric and paper make me happy. It truly lifts my spirits when I set eyes on these wonderful, wonderful materials.

And I am going to focus on that what makes me happy and I am going to pursue that what ignites passion within me.

One last thing: Knitting still is my number one passion and always will be. It is just, that lately, I have been looking up from my knitting needles and I have noticed that there is so much more out there…

camelia

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry!

2 Responses to Looking up from my knitting needles

  1. Alex says:

    I want to get into sewing, but I don’t have any good fabric stores near me. =( I’m interested in seeing what you produce.

  2. Marianne says:

    Life is so short, enjoy everything while you can !
    Er is toch niets mee als je doet wat je veel voldoening geeft, het zijn tenslotte ongevaarlijke hobby’s ! Hoewel ….?

