Healing, Connecting and Brotherly Love

I haven’t been knitting at all… instead I just sit motionless at the Teahouse and look out of the window while life is passing by.

All I want to do is just sit still… and contemplate.

Tears were shed, stories about Frank were told, bursts of laughter occured, but most importantly of all for me, I was able to give Frank’s passing some closure during his Memorial at Irving Park.

Healing

After a hurtful event, we pick up the pieces, lick our wounds and healing can commence. Everybody has their own way of healing. My healing consists of talking about what has happened, telling people that a young member of our community has passed away. And I do not shun the topic overwhelming depression and suicide.

By being open about it, I have had many interesting but above all healing conversations.

May all who have been affected by this sad event, find peace and heal.

Connections and Brotherly Love

Frank’s passing has made a deep and profound impact on me. It has forced me to look up and around me. It has made me realize that it is time for me to connect on a more deeper level with people in my close surroundings, people in my neighborhood and community.

Over the past few days I have made several sweet connections with people in my neighborhood. And I will continue to do so. Showing brotherly love and receiving brotherly love have humbled me.

As for knitting

Lately I have not been able to concentrate on my knitting… so nothing has been done.

I would like to show you though what I had been knitting on several weeks ago during my blog break; hats.

Sally showed me a pattern she picked up during TNNA in California and since I had never knitted a hat before, I decided it was high time to do so.

I am so enamored with this free hat pattern called The Sunset Beret by Haley Waxberg! I knitted several hats in a row. The yarn used is Misti Alpaca Chunky and you need only one skein. In the photos below I used a variegated color (I forgot the colorway) and a solid deep red color.

I simply love this pattern and I will be making more Sunset Berets.

Beret2

Beret3

Thank you for your kind and comforting words

I would like to thank each and every one of you who have left such kind and comforting words with regard to Frank’s passing. It helped me navigate through some sad moments.

Just the other night, when I was listening to one of Eric Clapton’s live version of “Wonderful Tonight”, I closed my eyes and felt a deep gratitude of being alive and healthy.

As I heard the tones of Eric Clapton’s guitar, I felt a gentle yet profound love exuding from my soul, rippling out to my surroundings, touching my reality, touching this life that I and all of us live in.

Today I leave you with Eric Clapton’s performance… Enjoy…

Love and Blessings to all.

Red-Beret

3 Responses to Healing, Connecting and Brotherly Love

  1. shannon says:

    I’m so glad that you have got some closure. I was looking at your hat and I said to myself (yes that happens- a lot) “wait…I know that yarn….” then went to my knitting bag and voila, pulled out a pair of fingerless mitts I’m working on in the exact yarn! I don’t know the colorway either, my label ended up under my bed torn to shreds by my new puppy. What is the funniest thing was that I had brought 2 skeins because it was sooooo soft and yummy thinking of the mitts (my LYS’s owner’s own pattern) and of a hat. The problem I faced was WHICH hat. I could not find one that was right and then lo and behold I checked your blog to see how you were doing after Frank’s passing and TA DA. It’s perfect for showing the beautiful colors! So, thank you! It’s now on the list to go right after the mitts are done! And I must say that you did an awesome job on it!

  2. shannon says:

    Just dropping a note…the colorway is Red Rover. I found it on Ravelry and thoght I’d let ya know.🙂

  3. Mischelle Johnston says:

    Hello Nancy!! Send me an email. We’ll set a date. ~ Mischelle

