Lady Melancholy

Every once in a while I get a visit from Lady Melancholy. This year she decided to come visit me in January. I recognized her heavy knock on my front door and when I saw her black silhouette through my window shades, my heart immediately grew heavy.

I stood there, in front of my door not knowing what to do, as I watched her enter into my house. Much to my unpleasant surprise, she brought along several of her friends; Depression, Confusion and Existential Angst.

Great. Just great. What else to do than to buckle up and ride this one out.

And so I did…

Questions upon questions

In my last entry, I had several questions I needed to address. Instead of having a quick answer, I found myself asking even more questions and at one point I got so confused that I did not know where to go, what to do, and how to proceed with this knitting blog I named “Getting Purly With It”.

But now, several weeks later, things are becoming more clear to me.

First of all, when I started this blog, in April 2007, I did not have a job. I was able to dedicate a lot of time to blogging. Sure enough, I even started to write up patterns, post picture tutorials and what not.

I want you to know that the whole process of designing, taking notes, writing out the pattern, making pictures and posting picture tutorials takes a whole lot of effort and time on my part.

Nowadays, I do have a job. I work 4 to 5 days a week, and let me tell ya, I just don’t have the time and energy anymore to issue patterns!

I am still designing, and I am still going strong in knitting. Only the part of pattern writing, tech editing, test knitting, copy editing, producing step by step picture tutorials…eh… I don’t think so… at least not for a little while.

Still a novice knitter

I consider myself still a novice knitter… I have still so much to learn, so much to discover, so much to try out in this wonderful world that is called knitting. It is such a delight for me and I just cannot wait to grow as a knitter, to master many techniques, and to touch many many fibers.

There is so much to learn and I am an eager student who does not want to be held back. I need to be able to just take off and fly.

And fly I shall. Ain’t nothing holding me back. Not even Lady Melancholy and her friends.

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry.

4 Responses to Lady Melancholy

  1. Amy says:

    I’m glad to see you posting again — I’ve missed your writing.

  2. Chayo says:

    I am so glad to have met you nancy!!! I want to post your blog a Valentine. It is the picture I took of Adrianne yesterday making her knitted heart!!!!! It is beautiful. how do I post a picture here>?

  3. Marianne says:

    Very glad to see you are back !🙂
    I just love to see you writing, I’m not expecting you to post tutorials and patterns by any means !
    Wat me aantrekt in je blog is je liefde voor het breien, en DIE zal hier zeker nog te zien zijn !!

  4. Alex says:

    I don’t care if you post patterns or whatever. I just enjoy reading your blog.

    I hope Lady Melancholy’s visit is short.

