Manos Silk Blend and other goodies!

Manos silk blend

After my misfortunate Too-Much-Pleads-Freaking-Looks like a Pregnancy-Top adventure, I kind of felt bummed out… what better way to cheer myself up with some new yarn: Manos Silk Blend…

More of that later, first some other Inspirational Goodies!

Inspirational Goodies

Don’t you just LOVE to get some crafts supplies?Ooooh, I always feel like a little kid whenever I get some of those goodies!

Today, I went with some friends to a quiltshop in Multnomah Village to get the most beautiful buttons and some fabric. Do I have a project in mind for it? Of course not, but I am sure I will in the near future! We all know that feeling don’t we?

These large buttons make my heart beat faster… I grabbed the last two available at the shop:

Buttons

And this beautiful Japanese fabric with Dogwood print…sigh… LOVE it!

Dogwood Japanese Fabric

After the quiltshop, we went to an Antique Market and I found these gorgeous vintage sewing patterns.

Vintage Patterns1

Can I sew? No, but they are a wonderful inspiration for knitwear design. I just love love love the schematics given and would very much like to see that with all knitted patterns.

The femininity in these patterns just rock my world:

Vintage Patterns 2 Vintage Patterns4

And look at these ever so elegant necklines. You know I am going to design a top with a neckline like that!
Vintage Patterns3

And this wonderful low cowl neckline with cute button(right model)…sigh… wouldn’t that make a beautiful sweater or coat?
Vintage Patterns5

I am telling you, I am so inspired!

Manos Silk Blend

feather and fan fingerless glove

First of all, thank you all so much for giving me advice on my top! I really appreciate that and it encourages me to go on and not to give up…

I did have to step away from the project this week though. You see, if I don’t finish something in more than 3 weeks, this knitter gets anxious. And besides that, I needed to cheer myself up and what better way to do that with some new yarn: Manos silk blend.

I was thrilled when Manos silk blend arrived at Sally’s shop Close Knit and immediately purchased three colorways to play with: bleu dark grey, light grey with soft pink and finally variegated purple.

I wanted a a mindless project so I chose to play around with the feather and fan stitch.

The feather and fan stitch is one of may favorite lace stitches and you can make so many variations. Usually, it is given in a 18 repeat stitch pattern but I fooled around a bit and used 24 repeat pattern:
24 st repeat feather and fan

And this variation is with a 30 repeat pattern with extra stockinette rows in between:
30 st repeat feather and fan

And finally, I used a variation in which I omit the yarn overs and replace them with Kfb increases:
Purple variegated

In the end I finished two scarves. I blended the bleu dark grey Manos with a dark grey Kidsilk Night, and the light grey with pink Manos got blended with a light grey Kidsilk Night. The Kidsilk Night has ever so subtle sparkles!
manos silk blend and kidsilk night

Playing around with the feather and fan stitch and the luscious Manos Silk Blend put me in a better mood and inspired me to design a new fingerless glove:
Feather and fan fingerless glove2

It’s cute, I am happy with it. As soon as I am completely satisfied, I will write up the pattern and issue it for free!

Well, it is time to pick up my top again. I will work on it in the next few days and see what will happen.

Thank you so much for your readership! I really appreciate it..

Untill the next entry!

3 Responses to Manos Silk Blend and other goodies!

  1. Marianne says:

    The new Manos looks delicious ! And blending it with KSH even makes it more yummy !
    Those patterns are a gem, too bad you can’t sew because they would make some great dresses.

  2. Ria says:

    Feather and fan is such a pretty pattern. Possibly one of those most-used lace patterns out there, and you’d think it’d get old and tired at some point, but it never fails to look good!

  3. With the 70s and 80s back in style, I just loving vintage clothing from the thrift shops. You can find designers like Chanel and Armani for cheap there. Ebay is great too!

