Nothing can stop me from knitting

Except for a power outage…

Candlelight

I was happily knitting away the other night when suddenly the power went out. Oh shoot… now what..? I guess no knitting…

Will you believe me when I tell you that I felt rather lost? I just did not know what to do with myself and after lighting some candles I just sat in my knittingroom, motionless for several minutes.

If one cannot knit, one can phantasize about it! I picked up my Chunky Rowan Cashsoft swatch, held it in my hands and closed my eyes…oh my word, it is so soft… wouldn’t it be heaven to feel this on my bare skin?

Swatch-Rowan-Cashsoft

After some more phantasizing I knew what I wanted to make with it: a fitted cropped short sleeved little top.

Inspired by the Textured Tunic I have come up with this sofar:

 

Fitted Textured Top

I simply love the color… it makes me think of a sexy yet robust red wine so I have named it “Shiraz”. And what a coincidence, the colorway I am using is also called Shiraz!

Needles to say, I had to rewrite the whole pattern. I took the base design of the Textured Tunic and added different textures to it: Seed stitch and moss stitch. I do not know yet how I am going to finish it at the bottom.

Maybe ribbing all the way down? Maybe KFB (Knit front and back) increases at the side? Have to think about it…

 

Socks!

3 Socks

Other than Shiraz, I am working on 3 different socks. From left to right you see Koigu in grey and teal colors, Claudia Handpainted Yarns in a beautiful autumnal colorway called John B and last but certainly not least Great Adirondack Silky Sock in colorway cappucino.

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

2 Responses to Nothing can stop me from knitting

  1. Pixie says:

    Nancy,
    Your knits are gorgeous! I stumbled over here Googling for a knit choli pattern and have been absolutely hooked. Is there any chance you’ll be sharing that pattern? *covet*
    ~Pixie

  2. Marianne says:

    This one is also becoming very pretty !
    And you started on socks too I see, and not just one, no three ! Hmm, can’t say you are obsessed can I ?

