Finding my Passion…

Crying like a baby

Smiling buddha

Just a week ago I had such a wonderful day! I woke up early and with my knitting and lots of knitting books I went to my favorite teahouse.

Surrounded by my knitting books, yarn and needles, and a pumpkin chai latte, I was as happy as a clam. From the early morning hours untill dinner time, I knitted away.

I went home, quickly had some dinner and resumed my knitting when suddenly I realized it was well after midnight! Some browsing for knitting/sewing/crafty blogs put me in an even better mood. All those wonderful people talking about their craft, pictures of their loved ones… so much PASSION, CREATION, INSPIRATION and LOVE…

And then it happened… I started balling… crying like a baby I tell ya…big fat tears were rolling down my cheeks.

That night I came to the realization that after a long queeste, I had finally found my passion: knitting.

I have studied Ancient History and Economics. I have worked in the corporate business world as an executive assistant to Vice Presidents and stepped it up as an assistant marketing manager. But never ever before have I been so encaptured by this journey in a colorful world that is called knitting…

I am thinking about starting a series of entries in which I tell the story of how and when I became a knitter. This journey only began less than 2 years ago. I consider myself a novice knitter, there is still so much to learn!

I invite you to come with me on this wonderful knitting journey! I learn from you, am inspired by you, and am so very thankful that you take the time to read my little blog.

Cute as a button

I finished my textured tunic… I knitted the sleeves, weaved in all the ends and only have to choose which button I am going to use:

Three to choose from

I have narrowed it down to these two… what do you think?

Which one will it be

New beginnings

Look at this delicious color combination of light grey, dark grey and teal…sigh…

Teal and Grey

It’s koigu sock yarn!

Thanks for reading and untill the next entry!

 

5 Responses to Finding my Passion…

  1. Marianne says:

    I know what you mean ! Knitting has given me so much joy too ! The yarns, the textures, the shapes and not to mention all the people who put all their creativity in this ! This is not a simple hobby for me anymore, it has become a passion.
    Personally I prefer the buttons on the right, simple and clean but with a nice touch. You asked for it, didn’t you🙂 ?
    Het is heel leuk om te lezen hoe je groeit in het zelf aanpassen en het durven veranderen. Binnenkort maak je zelf je eigen ontwerpen, let maar op !

  2. elanknits says:

    I like the leaf button.

  3. notyourhero says:

    I like the leaf button too–very unique.

    I’m glad you’ve found something to call your passion.

  4. missharleyquinn says:

    I can’t wait to read about your journey…I’m such a beginner its not even amusing anymore…but folks like you give me such hope about whats around the next bend…and I’m praying it contains less scarves!

  5. Marianne says:

    What a journey you made ! Look at what you achieved , you are about to make your own patterns now !
    Knitting is not a simple hobby for me anymore too, it has become a real passion !

