Modifications in Textured Tunic

I got Textured Tunic down

Textured Tunic 1

When I first saw Textured Tunic in the book Fitted Knits, I immediately fell in love with it. However, I was so intimidated by knitting sweaters, and did not believe I was ready for it yet.

Now, several months later, I am so ready. Bring it on, Textured Tunic, I can knit you, no problem. And let me tell you something: I got Textured Tunic down. I got her down in a way that I had to make modifications to the pattern.

In this entry, I will discuss my modifications extensively. When I am completely done with knitting my tunic, I will provide detailed written instructions.

First of all, let’s us take a closer look at the picture of Textured Tunic in the book:

Model

This picture suggests that the Textured Tunic is all around fitted, yes? It hugs the models body perfectly. This gives me reason to believe that there are increases and decreases from upper body, to waist, to hips.

However, the schematics tells us otherwise:

Schematics

Surprise… no increases nor decreases but knitted down in a straight line.

Questions immediately arise: If there are no increases and decreases, how is it possible that the garment hugs so fittedly around the model’s body? Maybe there is negative ease in the design? Maybe some parts of the design are knitted on smaller needles?

None of the above. If I will follow the pattern as written, and knit in a straight line down, there will be absolutely NO FIT from my chest to my hips.

Conclusion: modifications have to be applied to this project in order not to be disappointed with the endresult.

Decreases and Increases

First of all, what I do not understand in this pattern is that the section with the box stitch does not have any decreases. More over, the box stitch causes that part to expand.
Box stitch expands
This would make sense if negative ease was applied, but there is no negative ease. The bust size given in the pattern is actual bust size. You cannot really see it in the picture, but the section around my chest has too much ease and is a tad too big. Pictures are deceving like that!

Right after the section of the box stitch, I apply decreases going down to my waist:

Decreases necessary

Then as I go down to my hips, I apply increases:

Increases necessary

Should I not have done this, the garment would have pulled and stretched at my hips.

Fuhggedabout the side buttons

See those cute cute side buttons?

Side Buttons

What you don’t see in the picture is that there are actually “flaps” knitted at the side:
Schematics Side Buttons
I don’t like that at all and assume the the flaps and the buttons will pull, creating gaps. Besides that, it just does not do it for me.

So I decide to just make side slits.

No side flaps for me

All in all, with the modifications made, I am happy with how this tunic is turning out. It is a bit too big at my chest, and it just does not have the fit I expected it to have. But… I am happy with it. I hope to finish it next week.

Textured Tunic 1 Textured Tunic 2 Looks great and fitted

What I am trying to say in this entry is, always look with a inquisitive eye at a pattern before you start knitting. Always examine your pattern thoroughly and check if everything looks allright. Don’t just jump into a pattern assuming that it will come out just like in the picture.

By doing this, you will avoid major disappointment at the end of your long sweater knitting journey!

While writing this all out, I remember how intimidated I was to knit a sweater several months ago. I just did not know where to start.

For all you novice knitters out there, I will make an entry in which I explain from beginning to end, what steps to take when knitting a sweater. From choosing the pattern, choosing the yarn, choosing subsititute yarn to knitting a gauge swatch, to making modifications if necessary.

Thanks again so much for reading and untill next time!

 

 

 

8 Responses to Modifications in Textured Tunic

  1. notyourhero says:

    It’s funny…the book is called Fitted Knits, but every where I’ve looked, I’ve seen complaining about how the knits in the book are NOT fitted. Most of the design schematics look like that–no shaping. It’s silly.

    Anyway, you knit really fast! It looks gorgeous! I was planning on knitting the Drop-Stitch Tank from the book, myself. After NaKniSweMo and Christmas knitting is over, anyway.

  2. Marianne says:

    You sure have got it down !
    Wat ga je snel ! Je hebt de smaak nu echt goed te pakken is het niet ?
    Nog even en dan maak je je eigen patronen.

  3. Tiferet says:

    Nancy – I’m not surprised ,but I am pretty much “whelmed” by the growth you have taken with your knitting over the life of this blog. You are wise, thoughtful and truly creative as you work each piece. I am learning so much from you. This sweater is a charmer the way you did it. Of course, I’m looking for a fitted knit that hides a few things while it fits!!

  4. Kim says:

    I have to say that what most likely happened in the picture of the model was that they pulled the tunic together in the back so that the model looked more slimming or fitted. Which of course for knitters is not the right thing to do, when we need the picture to refer to.
    sorry about that.

  5. Edith van Dijk says:

    Gek he. Patroon lijkt inderdaad dat je moet minderen en meerderen maar dat is niet zo.
    Zonder mouwen is het ook leuk. Ik ga met die Royal Tweed garen een soort spencer maken en ik denk aan de kleur petrol of blauw. Maar het ziet er leuk uit. Ik ben benieuwd.
    Doei.

  6. […] click here to see what modifications I made in the body of this […]

  7. Spiced Coffee says:

    Thank you SOOO much for saving this sweater from being a disaster! Shame on the designer, and thank goodness for YOU!

