What’s next..?

Roadtrip to the Oregon Coast

How far away I felt from the Netherlands as we arrived at the Oregon Coast during a roadtrip last week. And how I gasped when we saw the beach of Manzanita.

Vista-of-Manzanita

Often times, especially when I experience yet another part of Oregon, I just cannot believe that I am actually living in the beautiful Pacific North West.

Manzanita is simply enchanting but Wheeler, a little tiny village, made me scream. How cute… Situated in a bay and surrounded by hills, mysteriously shrouded by misty fog, this tiny village stole my heart.

Wheeler-Bay

And as the sun was setting, we left Wheeler, with the promis to come back soon and stay for a few days.

Wheeler-Bay-2

As for knitting

After completed 3 projects I felt…lost and a tad sad. Not knowing what to do with myself, I gaze at the Lady Eleanors and gently pet my choli… I am being dramatic when I say it almost feels like saying goodbye to dear friends with whom I have spent many hours. But then again, that is the way it almost always feels when I finish projects.

So what’s next?

Pondering over new projects puts me in realm of many possibilities. I am floating deliciously, eagerly wanting to touch base with my next new loves.

How about working with some Qiviuk?

Musk-Ox-Qiviut

Or am I in the mood for yet again some Beaded Silk from Artyarns?

Artyarn-Beaded-Silk

Hmmm… maybe my fingers would like to caress some wonderful Venezia Worsted weight Merino/Silk from Cascade?

Venezia-Worsted

And what about my Rowan Cashsoft Chunky?

Rowan-Cashsoft-Chunky

This floating zone, this esotherical state of mind, this realm of many many possibilities is what I ADORE. What stitches will go best with what yarn? Which garment will I choose to make? Will I knit something from a pattern or will I design again? How I love this part of the knitting journey.

This state of mind however, cannot linger on for too long and I decided to start knitting up something very very simple with Rowan Kidsilk Aura.

Rowan-Kidsilk-Aura

It is straight stockinette stitch for many many inches and will ultimately result in a vintage stole. Simple, almost boring but great for a project on the rebound!

Rowan-Kidsilk-Aura-2

While knitting away on my vintage stole, I am more and more attracted to the Venezia from Cascade and Cashsoft Chunky from Rowan. I guess I will have to make some swatches with them!

Untill next time…

2 Responses to What’s next..?

  1. Denise says:

    some quiviuk sounds good to me.. I am definitely going to pick some up at Rhinebeck!!
    I have MAD money!!!

  2. Marianne says:

    Oh you have Qiviuk, now I’m getting really jealous ! Seriously, this is on top of my wishlist 🙂 Wished I could touch it……
    De vintage shawl is ook heel erg mooi, en de Kidsilk Aura, zo zacht net een droom.
    Ben benieuwd waar je het patroon vandaan hebt.

