A Celebration of Exotic Indian Fibers in Seattle

Sarisafari Trunk Show

View of Downtown Seattle form Mount Baker:
View of downtown Seattle from Mt Baker

My trip to Seattle was adorned with Indian saris, graceful ruffles and pleads, vibrant colors, silk, cotton and… knitting.

The Sari Empress, who reigns over Sarisafari and is also known as knitter Melinda, had a sari trunk show in Seattle and I was more than happy to accompany her.
Melinda knitting in a beautiful yellow Sari:
Melinda knitting in Sari

It must have been such an excentric view on the Cascade train to Seattle: two ladies dressed in colorful graceful saris, chatting and click-click-clickety click knitting away…

The trunk show was exotically and colorfully intoxicating:
Toby the Cat next to Sari Empress MelindaRegal SilkpinkblackMore Silk Print!More BrocadeGolden SilkFlowers and cute little mushroomsFine Paisly and Flower on cottonBrocadeBlue Brocade

Notes from a very far Past: My Indonesian Heritage

During the trainride back home, I pondered over all that beautiful Indian Fiber and couldn’t help but think about my own exotic heritage: Java, Indonesia.

There I was, traveling from Washington to Oregon while my thoughts traveled back to the turn of the 20th century when my ancestors were taken from Java, Indonesia to Suriname, South America.

From this country Suriname my parents traveled with their baby daughter to Holland, Europe. And yes, their baby daughter grew up to be an adventurous woman, who packed her bags and left for the United States of America.

Great Grandmother Sarmina probably at the age of barely 17. This photo was most probably taken when she arrived in Suriname between 1910 and 1913  with a ship called Djebres & Prins Willem I. On her sarong you see a piece of paper with a number:
Great Grand Mother

Me in a sari at King Station, Seattle, WA:
Me in Sari at King Station Seattle

Did you know that the Dutch colonizers and the English colonizers made a trade waaay back when? The Dutch, who “owned” New Amsterdam and the English who “owned” Suriname did the old switcharoo.

They made a bussines deal and the Dutch ended up colonizing Suriname while the English got their hands on New Amsterdam which is now known as New York.

Not only did the Dutch colonized Suriname, but they also colonized Java, Indonesia. And as you might now, the English also colonized India…

From Java, to Suriname, from Suriname to Holland and from Holland to the USA.

And now for some knitting!

Me and Melinda did some serious knitting! Melinda is working on a choli, that is a tight fitted top which one wears with a sari and I was working on some gloves for our Hostess:
Seattle Knitting!

Melinda uses Angora yarn from Louisa Harding with earthtone colors, and I am using 100% Alpaca sock yarn from the brand Lonesome Stone, colorway Cranbrule…

While we were knitting we had this beautiful view of the Olympic Mountains and Puget Sound:
Olympic mountan range

Luckily, I was just in time finishing the gloves to give as a present to our wonderful Seattle Hostes. Here you see her wearing them:
Fingerless gloves for hostessHostess wearing gloves

And on my way back home, I immediately started a new glove!
Going back home

Halfway through the trainride I got this far:
Growing during trainride

Almost there!
Almost done!

By the time I arrived in Portland, I was just about done:
Just about done!

Oh, almost forgot! You know what I saw at the Market in Seattle? Dutch Irises!!!
Dutch Irises

That’s all folks…!

Useful Links:

Sarisafari: Indian saris

Javenese Batik Sarong

A little bit about Suriname

The Dutch in New Amsterdam which is now called New York

6 Responses to A Celebration of Exotic Indian Fibers in Seattle

  1. sheknits says:

    Hi Nancy- I didnt win your contest, however YOU WON MINE!! I decided to pick two winners, one from the random drawing and also wanted to give a prize to the person who came up with the name I decided to use for the pearl flower stitch markers…which is your wonderful Twinkle Twinkle Flower Star! Please e-mail me your mailing address and I will send you your (little)prize…don’ get too excied, it’s just a little offering. I am going to list the winners on my blog and I hope, since your blog address is in the comments, that it is ok ha I list your blog addy.
    Cheers and Enjoy and have a great nigt. Thanks for the creative name, i am going to go to my Etsy shop and put the new name up!
    Sharon sdreifuss@msn.com

  2. Alex says:

    What an image–two ladies in beautiful saris knitting away on the train.

    I love train rides, though I’ve only done it once or twice.

  3. Nicole says:

    Sounds like a great trip!

  4. Rennagayle says:

    Knowing you were from the Netherlands, all this time I’ve had you pictured as blonde and fair! You are positively lovely, and the sari you’re wearing is eye-popping gorgeous. You live a very adventerous life. 🙂

  5. marie says:

    Hi nance mooie sarie het staat je heel goed. Mooie wol. Edith geef de bestelling nog door. Hoeveel heeft ze voor een sjaal nodig van 60×150 cm? En volgens mij zou je nog de patroon op je blog zetten. Ze kijkt er naar uit want het ziet er leuk uit die groen.
    Groetjes marie.

  6. […] the fingerless gloves I made for the Seattle Hostes? I had hoped to post a picture tutorial of that very glove […]

