The power of little me…

DSC_4717

I was pleasantly surprised of all the positive feedback I received from you on my Poppies of Endearment project. I cannot tell you how much your feedback encouraged me to go into this project with even more fire and soul.

Also, you have inspired me to give you a deeper understanding of how and when this idea came to me. That way you will have more insight in why I am doing this Poppies of Endearment project.

Feeling helpless and powerless

At times, when I look around me and see how human beings hurt, fight and kill each other, I hang my head and try to understand why.

Fear and hate are capable of motivating people to commit atrocious crimes against humankind.

When I hear or see what cruelty occurs, I feel so helpless… so powerless. And I ask myself, what can I do? How can I help?

How can little me possibly fight this evil that hurts us?

The power of little me

While once again feeling helpless and powerless, I wished that I could place a flower in people’s hearts and make it bloom. And I daydreamed that with every blooming flower, the scent of pure love would be released.

If I can wish it, if I can dream it then ultimately I can make it tangible and make it happen.

I feel no longer helpless and powerless. Little me can actually do something and help to make a change.

Little me has the power to make a difference.

In the beginning there was a single little poppy. Then came another one. And another one…

DSC_4718 DSC_4719 DSC_4720 DSC_4721

And soon there were plenty!

DSC_4724

The more poppies I make, the more abundance I create and the more empowered I feel to spread the love.

The power of me. The power of you. The power of us.

DSC_4730 DSC_4732 DSC_4731 DSC_4729

I can only hope that this Poppies of Endearment project will inspire you to do something similar.

This is not MY project. This is also YOUR project if you wanted to.

DSC_4728

Once I finished my 100th poppy, I will release them into the world in clusters of 3 and a message in my own words will be attached to them.

I will take a picture of where I release them, and I will post what message I attach to them.

If you are inspired to do the same, let me know about it. Send me your picture and send me your message you have attached. It does not have to be a knitted poppy. It can be whatever you want it to be.

This is not only about the power of little me. This is about the  power of you, and ultimately, the power of us.

DSC_4733

Lastly, I want to tell you that I firmly believe in the goodness of mankind.

I strongly believe in our ability to love.

I strongly believe in our ability to do good.

I strongly believe in our ability to inspire, to encourage and to create beautifully.

This strong belief is what makes life worth living for me. Because life is truly beautiful and grand, and I am determined to keep it that way.

Thank you for reading and until the next entry.

10 Responses to The power of little me…

  1. vanessa e says:

    as usual, your words, your thoughts, and your handknits inspire!! i love your positive message and your beautiful poppies! i’m going to do some poppy knitting myself this week… spread the love!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      YES! Spread the LOVE! You will also notice this project will challenge you on many levels: 
      1) writing a message from the heart  
      2) finding a spot to leave the poppies behind 
      3) Making sure placement of poppies combined with backdrop will make for an “artistic” photo. 

      This project has so many layers to it.
      I hope it will get your creative juices flowing, while you strive to make a difference.

      Great purpose, great cause!

  2. chayo says:

    YES! “Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me”
    How do your feel about little Clay “terms of endearment” I made little clay pieces stamped symbols of peace,joy,healing,love…. in raw clay to plant and melt into the earth~~~~little seeds of endearment to let the earth know we humans do cherish, and love and care for her and each other.
    I love knowing you and I cherish and have gratitude for what you are doing.

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Chayo, what a wonderful idea… so much intent and purpose in what you are doing. Please take some pictures and send it to me so I can write about it on my blog! I cherish you too! Thankful that our paths crossed that day at the Teahouse…

  3. This is amazing! I love your idea. Thank you so much for sharing. I hope you get some pics of you & the poppies in action!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Alice, thank you, this is a project that will challenge me in many ways. Just finished my 71st poppy. 29 more to go. Oh yes, be sure to find some pics of where I leave the poppies behind… I see you have two blogs! Keep it up :)

  4. Aurora says:

    THANK YOU for your words, inspiration and wonderful intention. My mother is in the middle of a very tough battle with cancer and I have been feeling helpless and powerless to do anything for her. This is perfect. (I recently bought the poppy pattern), and not only have you inspired me to start making some flowers but you have reminded and shown me by example that there are creative, soul nurturing things I can do to feel better. THANK YOU, my brain and heart are churning with ideas.
    Namaste, Aurora

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Aurora, Thank you so much for writing me, it really means a lot to me. I am so sorry that your mother is battling cancer, I cannot even imagine what hurt this situation causes for the whole family. I hope that while you knit the poppies, it eases the pain a little bit… it is kind of like knitting little blessings/prayers… and you and your mother need a lot of that kind and gentle energy… Wishing you strength to get through this…

  5. Shelley says:

    I am touched by your project. Making the world a beautiful place with you knitting, words of encouragement and your open heart. I am inspired. Stay tuned for what will happen in Boston.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

