Poppies of Endearment

Abundance of Poppies

I did not particularly enjoy myself over the last few weeks. Packing up an entire household is not what I call fun.

Boy, am I glad that is behind us.

For days and days on end I was not able to play with yarn and knit. So when we arrived back in San Francisco last Tuesday, I grabbed my little wooden basket filled with kidsilk haze yarn and started to knit poppies.

I haven’t stopped knitting my poppies ever since. I am on a mission…

Poppies of Endearment

Abundance of Poppies

A few months ago, my friend Jenni had made a beautiful display  for the yarnshop Closeknit in Portland; she decorated several branches with lots and lots of poppies.

It sure was a pleasure for the eye those sweet little colorful knitted flowers… I wish I had taken a picture!

Then, on a sunny afternoon, I took the branches with poppies home with me and as I walked down the street something remarkable happened.

Every single person I encountered on my way would stop me and literally go gaga over the poppies! Even this rough looking guy walked straight up to me and caressed the poppies.

Right there and then I realized : these  little knitted poppies have the power to endear. And I knew I had to do something with that…

Poppies with an endearing message

Abundance of Poppies

For the next few days I am going to knit at least a hundred poppies. I already knitted 50 in all kinds of colors.

When I have knitted one hundred poppies, I am going to set them free in the streets of San Francisco with a little message attached to them.

This message will be an affirmation, a poem, a saying. This message has to convey something sweet, encouraging, inspiring. And last but not least, this message has to be written in my own words.

I will leave the poppies with message attached randomly in neighborhoods. On a bike, on a doorknob, on a bench, attached to a fence, in nooks and crannies, in somebody’s mailbox, in restrooms, on branches.

I hope that the finder will be endeared. I hope that the finder will smile. I hope that the finder will melt.

Because we need that feeling of endearment… We need to let our guards down every once in a while and I hope that these little poppies will disarm and endear.

Thank you for reading and until the next entry!

More on the Poppies of Endearment project:

The power of little me

Abundance of Poppies Abundance of Poppies Abundance of Poppies Abundance of Poppies Abundance of Poppies

17 Responses to Poppies of Endearment

  1. Susan says:

    “We need to let our guards down every once in a while…” YES! You are so right! To much of the time I’m guarded and closed off. I’m going to pretend I just found one of your poppies. Such a great idea!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      The trick is to know when you should be guarded and when to let it down, yes? It is quite a skill to let your guard down at the right moment. I am still figuring it out :) I am loving how you love your photography classes!

  2. Knitphomaniac says:

    That’s a really beautiful idea….it touched me and I didn’t even get a poppy to go with those inspiring words!…GREAT IDEA!!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Dazzler, is that you? Knitphomaniac, hahaahahaaa! I am glad my idea touched you :) Thanks, honey… you inspire me.

  3. Katie says:

    Your poppies are lovely – and I love that you’re going to randomly gift them. :-)

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Katie, thanks so much for stopping by and dropping me a line. I so appreciate that! Your positive feedback means a lot to me :)

  4. Renna says:

    Nancy, I love the way you think; and not only do you think great things, but you follow through with them. Please update us after their ‘release’. Are you going to hide and watch for recipients reactions?

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Renna, be sure to get updates from when I set the poppies free! I will take pictures where I left them. Although, I would love to see people’s reaction, I think I will not be there to experience it… But can only wish they will have a positive reaction!

  5. telma says:

    Nancy, we need more people like you in the world. seriously. i know that you’re super far from where i am, but little do you know that there have been a few posts of yours that have helped me a lot… not only with my knitting, but life and realizing what truly makes us happy. i dont want to make this a long winded comment… but i do want to say… thank you :) l love the poppies… and i love the idea… so awesome.

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Telma, thank YOU so much for reaching out and letting me know this… Isn’t this social media thing mind blowing? I am so happy we connected and that we can positively influence each other. For reals.

  6. chayo says:

    These are like beautiful prayer ties!!!!!!!lovely! I hear you on the packing…I have not been able to do my clay work for two months and I am getting crabby. I almost have my studio unpacked. Will try to move all the boxes from around the kiln so I can work/play again! Thank you for the lovely flowers that start my day today…it is already working…your lovely charms
    Have a beautiful day Nancy.

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Sweet Chayo I hope when you read this you have had some good play time with your clay and kiln. Working on our art invigorates us, yes? It is so wonderful…

  7. elsa says:

    what a lovely idea! have fun doing it!

  8. Sondra says:

    You are truly an inspiration, Nancy, What a thoughtful idea. Surprises are such fun.
    Squish my Jenni, for me when you get to see her.
    Sending love and light

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Sondra, surprises of inspiration are all around us, yes? Often times they are untangible. And then we realize we can make them tangible… how empowering…So happy, Jenni is here!

  9. [...] was pleasantly surprised of all the positive feedback I received from you on my Poppies of Endearment project. I cannot tell you how much your feedback encouraged me to go into this project with even [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

