Finalizing things in Portland

FTIP3

Last Tuesday, we arrived in Portland to finalize everything here and put up our house for sale.

As soon as we got off the highway and before we even arrived at the house I said to my husband: “Drop me off at the yarnshop!”

He wasn’t even surprised. He too knows that my real home in Portland was my precious yarn shop Closeknit on Alberta Street.

Still a little bit of me in the shop!

FTIP1

It was so good to see my friends Jenni and Sharon at the shop as soon as I walked in,  and it felt so good to be surrounded by gorgeous colorful skeins of yarn! All the vibrant colors made me so happy!

I was also happy to see that some of my creations were still present at the shop and so beautifully displayed:

FTIP2

It was as if I had never left.

Packing and really leaving

FTIP4

It is funny how packing and moving out of our house, coincides with me moving from this blog to my website.

In the tangible world, I am packing our stuff into boxes and know that I will unpack and arrange everything neatly in our new house.

Moving from this blog to my new website is exactly the same. My web developer is importing all my old blog post to my new website, and once all those old blog posts arrive there, I have to rearrange and make everything tidy.

That is a lot of work, but all so worth it. Also we are fine tuning at the moment and really getting into details!

Needless to say that I am very busy at the moment… No time for knitting.

We plan to leave Portland for good coming Tuesday. I shed no tears for selling the house.

I shed tears for leaving my dear friends and yarnshop Closeknit behind…

Thanks for reading and until the next entry.

7 Responses to Finalizing things in Portland

  1. chayo says:

    My heart is with you as you pack up. We move out of storage and in to this house in one week. I wish you ease with the packing and sorting.
    Come see the ceramics and weaving at the convention center this weekend if you have any time at all.
    Sending love xoxo

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Thanks, Chayo! It is really a mess around me and everything is out of whack but change is goood!!! Hope your show at the ceramics show is a succesful one! Have fun…

  2. Vanessa says:

    good luck with the move!! we are beginning to prepare that ourselves. I can’t wait to see the new website too, once you are “settled in” both places!

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Hi Vanessa,  It is such a pain in the behind to move but we just have to push through. I will be thinking of you when it is your turn :) And thanks for your encouraging words about my blog/website! It keeps me going :) Happy Saturday!

  3. Vanessa says:

    p.s. i love how you have managed to write about some personal things in your life, but still keep the main focus about knitting. I love reading your positive, enthusiastic words. keep up the strong work!

  4. Sondra says:

    The very best to you both in your new adventure… Will be waiting for the new website to finish. Take some time for yourself and take a deep breathe.
    Enjoy the change…
    Hugs
    Sondra

    • gettingpurlywithit says:

      Hi Sondra,  Thank God the packing is all behind us… we left Pdx for good and are now back in San Francisco. Will be seeing Jenni soon here! And you too! If all goes well, the website will be up and running very very soon. Waiting for Andy to do a final import. Cheers! Nancy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

