Finished: A top called “Attitude”

Attitude6

Pattern: My own design based on Tubey! I named the top: Attitude.
Yarn: 5 skeins of Venezia Worsted
Needles: Addi’s circ 24″ US 5 and #7
Cast on date: November 21 , 2007
Cast off date: June 7 , 2008

Hurray! She is finished!

My, my… It sure has been a journey with this one! Because of all the attitude this top gave me, I accordingly named her “Attitude”.

Readers who have been frequenting this blog for a while, might remember it all started lasted november when I had an idea for a top design.

Choosing Venezia Cascade Worsted

My design was inspired by Cassie Rovitti’s Tubey Sweater as seen on Knitty.com.
After I drew out the design, I started swatching, casted on and soon enough I was well on my way.

Start of the shrug on dpns finished shrug Ribbing k1,p1 full twist HF4


Trials and Tribulations

This top gave me some serious attitude. The first bump in the road was when I increased waaaay too many stitches for gathering!

Too much pleads

Ooff, all the ripping back that I had to do… numerous times!

Rip rip rip

Seriously… this project gave me a headache more than once…

Happy with the endresult

Looks good, huh? I am happy!

Attitude4 Attitude3

I am so glad to finalize this project… It took me a long time to finish it!

If you want to read all entries on this project click here.

Here is a close up:

Attitude1

Yay, I am so proud of myself!

Thanks for sticking with me on this one everybody… and thanks you so much for your tips and encouraging words. I really appreciate that, you all kept me going.

Attitude5

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry!

11 Responses to Finished: A top called “Attitude”

  1. Lee says:

    Any thought to the idea of releasing the pattern? It’s a gorgeous top!

  2. vanessa e says:

    wonderful! it looks great! good for you for sticking with it and mastering your own pattern. it’s quite an achievement and the end result you get to wear!

  3. Christianne says:

    It’s gorgeous!!!

  4. Pixie says:

    It’s lovely! Congratulations on a successful project!

  5. Edith van Dijk says:

    EEEEEEIIIIIIIINNNNNNDDDDEELLijk af. Maar het resultaat mag er wezen. Mooi en simpel. leuk patroontje.

  6. jenni says:

    Darling it is absolutely beautiful. Congradulations. no more but kicking from this project. on to more. cant wait to see it in person. xoxox

  7. Renna says:

    You are such a talented designer, Nancy! I’m so happy for you that you conquered it. It’s just beautiful, and it looks great on you.

  8. Jen says:

    This is completely fantastic! It looks really comfy and flattering yet totally elegant.

  9. amy says:

    this top is awesome!!! can you tell me what stitches you used for the start of the sleeves!!! thank you!!!

  10. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Amy:

    Hmmm… I don’t remember from the top of my head. Let me get back to you on this one. If I can find my notes somewhere in my pile of papers, I will let you know what stitch I used.

    I think I just made a simple 1X1 ribbing. Yeah, that is what it must be. Simply 1X1 ribbing.

    Try it and see if you like it.

  11. […] And how about my “Attitude Sweater“? […]