Free Pattern: Long Fingerless Glove “Adrienne”

Adrienne15

I was planning on writing a pdf.file for the pattern and to make some nice photographs on these long scalloped gloves but alas, I am running out of time.

Several people have been asking me to please please post the pattern soon because it would make such a nice Christmas gift.

Pdf.file will follow soon, for now you will have to do with this posting, aight?

Long Fingerless Glove “Adrienne”

scallloped long version 2

This long fingerless glove is named after a beautiful and tall woman called Adrienne, who happens to be my friend!

First I will give you sort of a picture tutorial and the entire pattern is written out further down this page.

In this pattern you need to know how to increase by knitting in front and back of a stitch (kfb). You also need to know the slip slip knit decrease (ssk) and the knit two together decrease (k2tog).

Adrienne2

If you do not know how to do this please go to knittinghelp.com and watch Amy Finlay’s video tutorials on Kfb, ssk and k2tog.

This pattern contains a 8 row repeat stitch which give you 7 scalloped purl ridges. The front side of the glove is scalloped, the back side contains simply stockinette stitch.

The first and last stitch are always knit in stockinette stitch which will make your life easier when you seam later on.

Adrienne1

After you are done with the knitting part you will have to seam the glove, using the mattrass stitch technique. If you don’t know how to seam, go to knittinghelp.com and watch Amy Finlay’s excellent video tutorial on the mattress stitch. Scroll down her page untill you hit the “finishing” section and click on the mattress stitch!

Start Seaming down from the top for about 2.5 inches:

Adrienne3

Then start seaming up from the bottom for about 8 inches untill you have a thumb opening left of about 1.25 – 1.50 inches:

Adrienne4 Adrienne5 Adrienne6 Adrienne7

Turn the glove inside out and weave in the ends.
Adrienne8

In the end you should have a nice and neat seam:
Adrienne9

And if all went well, your glove should look something like this:
Adrienne10 Adrienne11

I particularly like the scallop right on top of the glove. It is almost as if it “protects” your fingers by wrapping it in the scallop! And it looks so feminine on!
Adrienne12

And now for the pattern!

Again, the pdf will follow shortly, for now you will have to do with this:

Materials
Yarn: Manos Silk Blend, dk weight, 150 yards. Any dk yarn will do as long as you have about 140-150 yards of yarn.

Needle Size 7 or size to obtain gauge! I am a very tight knitter so you might want to consider a different needle size!
Darning needle for seaming.

Gauge:
4.5 st and 6 rows in = 1” in St st
Be sure to check your gauge, okay?

Size: Length: approx. 12”
Width (when not seamed): approx. 6.5”

This pattern is knitted flat from the top down. The first and last stitch are always knit in stockinette stitch to make your life easier when you need to seam.

NOTE: The SSK in this pattern is done as follows: Slip knitwise, Slip knitwise , and then knit both stitches together into the back loops.

RIGHT HAND GLOVE

Cast on 36 stitches and make sure you have a 10 inch tail for seaming.

Step 1: The top part
1) RS: Knit 25, (k1, p1) untill the last stitch, now knit that last stitch.
2) WS: Purl 1, (k1, p1) 5x, knit 24, purl 1.
3) Repeat Row 1
4) Repeat Row 2
5) knit 1, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, knit 11.
6) Purl all stitches

Step 2: The actual pattern

7) Knit all stitches
8 ) Purl all stitches
9) Knit 1, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, knit 11
10) Purl 11, Knit 24, Purl1

11) Knit all stitches
12) Purl all stitches
13) Knit 1, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, knit 11
14) Purl

Now Repeat row 7 to row 14 another for another 6 times! In the end you should have 7 purl ridges in your pattern.

Step 3: Last part of the glove and ribbing

15) Knit all stitches
16) Purl all stitches
17) Knit 1, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, knit 11
18) Purl all stitches
19) K1, P1 ribbing accross.
Repeat row 19 for 5 times more.
Bind off loosely in ribbing pattern. Leave an 18 inch tail.

Now seam your glove!

LEFT HAND GLOVE

Cast on 36 stitches and make sure you have a 10 inch tail for seaming.

Step 1: The top part

1) RS: (knit 1, purl 1) 5x, knit 1, knit 25
2) WS: p1, k24, p1, (k1, p1)5x
3) Repeat row 1
4) Repeat row 2
5) K11, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, k1
6) Purl all stitches

Step 2: The actual pattern

7) Knit all stitches
8 ) Purl all stitches
9) K11, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, k1
10) P1, k24, p11

11) Knit all stitches
12) Purl all stitches
13) K11, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, k1
14) Purl all stitches

Now Repeat row 7 to row 14 for another 6 times! In the end you should have 7 purl ridges in your pattern.

Step 3: Last part of the glove and ribbing

15) Knit all stitches
16) Purl all stitches
17) K11, (kfb)4x, (ssk)4x, (k2tog)4x, (kfb)4x, k1
18) Purl
19) K1, P1 ribbing accross.
Repeat row 19 for 5 times more.
Bind off loosely in ribbing pattern. Leave an 18 inch tail.

Now seam your glove!

Enjoy knitting this glove and enjoy wearing it!

Thank you for reading and untill the next entry…

9 Responses to Free Pattern: Long Fingerless Glove “Adrienne”

  1. retno says:

    beautiful!!!! i’m knitting Emanelle now and I can’t wait to see if I could succeed. Afterward, for sure I’ll make this one!!1

  2. Tiferet says:

    Bravo Nancy. I’m loving your fingerless gloves. You really have a touch for them. The scallops are just delicious and I’m sure will look good on even my old hands. The button one that is coming along will be added to my bulging notebook soon. I’m going to have to have a separate notebook for Nancy-Patterns before long. Have you thought about collecting what you are doing into a book? I think you are on your way. Also, I might be imagining it, but I think I can smell the Moroccan Chicken from here. My best to you and Trevor. Love, Tif’eret

  3. Marianne says:

    They are really pretty ! And they look super comfortable and elegant :-)
    Thanks for the pattern, mabe I know just the person to make these for !
    Hele fijne kerstdagen toegewenst samen !!!!

  4. jane says:

    Hi,

    These are so cute and I’m knitting them now. The one thing is, some may only print out the actual pattern (or copy and paste it into Word like I did). I would add the part about the thumb hole to the pattern itself.

    Thanks!
    Jane

  5. Ciorstaidh says:

    Oh, GORGEOUS — I’m rocking my way through fingerless glove patterns for Christmas and I think I just found one for a pressie to myself ;)

  6. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Ciorstaidh, yay!!! I am so happy you like these too!

  7. [...] could I refuse? Look at her so sweet and she also is working on my Adrienne glove pattern. She finished one glove this [...]

  8. [...] I have fallen in love again with a pattern I wrote 2 years ago: Long Scalloped Glove Adrienne. [...]

  9. Adrienne says:

    I love your Long Scalloped Fingerless Glove pattern.
    However, I would like to know if I could display a sample of your pattern at the store I work at? I knit all the displays in our yarn department. Could I give out the pattern if people ask for it? Your name and website will be on the pattern.
    Please email me back if I have your permission to do so,
    Thank you ~~ Doreen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

