Free Pattern: Double Dayflower Scarf

Double-Dayflower2 Double-Dayflower3 Double-Dayflower1

A few months after I first learned how to do a knit stitch and a purl stitch, I was ready to venture out to lace. I was in awe of those knitters who could do lace and would browse the knitting forums and lurk in every thread were lace was discussed.

One day, I stumbled across a lace thread over at Knittinghelp.com. The knitters were discussing a lace pattern called “Dayflower” and one knitter in particular wanted to double this pattern but did know how to.

Other knitters came to the rescue and at the end of the thread somebody wrote out the whole 16 row repeat pattern and doubled it! I immediately copied the pattern and stared at it for many days.

There are knit two together (k2tog), slip slip knit (ssk), purl two together through backloop (p2tog tbl) and purl 3 together through back loop (p3tog tbl) and my word was I intimidated!

What the hell are these abbreviations and how to knit them??? I had not to fear because Amy Finlay from Knittinghelp.com has excellent videos on how to do those stitches!

So I took a deep breath, got me some Noro Silk Garden colorway 205 / colorway 218 and some Addi Circulairs # 9 and bravely casted on…

Colorway 205
Double-Dayflower3

Colorway 218
Double-Dayflower2

It was hard for me in the beginning… but I did not give up and diligently kept on going. And this was the result:

Double-Dayflower2a

I had so much fun knitting it that I also knit this pattern in Noro Silk garden # 84.

Double-Dayflower1

I have had so many compliments on this scarf!

Double-Dayflower1a

Many thanks to the lace knitters over at Knittinghelp.com for writing out this pattern. And since it was posted for free, I made a pdf file for you to down load this Double Dayflower Pattern!

Double DayFlower

 

Have fun knitting!

Note added 10-23-07:

If you have never done lace before, maybe it is good to try the feather and fan scarf first…! If you are pretty confident you are ready for the Double Day Flower, go for it!

 

9 Responses to Free Pattern: Double Dayflower Scarf

  1. westerlywhimsies says:

    Those are beautiful scarves. I might have to give that a try.

  2. Marianne says:

    Look at what you posted within one week I didn’t check your blog ! You sure made some wonderful things !
    De shawls zijn allebei heel erg mooi geworden en ik ga het patroon ook zeker downloaden !

  3. Rhonda(BC Canada) says:

    BEAUTIFUL SCARF!! Since I found your site, I certainly will be knitting more, and purchasing stash :-)
    You are an inspiration. And I thank you for generously sharing with me and all of your readers.
    All the best to you!

  4. Kim says:

    Beautiful scarf, I really like this pattern. It looks like one I can do since I haven’t tried lace yet. I was reading over the pattern and step 3 is missing, just thought you would like to know.
    Thanks for putting great patterns on your site.

  5. gettingpurlywithit says:

    Hello Kim, thanks for visiting my blog and for commenting. I really appreciate that.

    Row 3 and all odd rows except row 5 and row 13 are not mentioned in the pattern because these odd rows (except for row 5 and 13) are purled.

    So Row 3, 7, 9, 11, and 15 are done like row 1 being:
    k3, purl to last 3 stitches, k3.

    This I have also stated in the pattern:

    “All odd rows except row 5 and row 13: knit first and last 3 stitches, purl everything in between! For row 5 and 13, just do exactly what the pattern states. ”

    Hope this helps.

    If you have never done lace before, I recommend to try the feather and fan lace pattern first.

    Thanks and take care.
    Nancy

  6. redfear says:

    Thank you for posting your patterns – they are absolutely gorgeous!

  7. [...] you want to knit your own Double Dayflower scarf, click here for the free [...]

  8. Janet says:

    I just posted your pattern on ravelry.com. I hope you don’t mind as I think it’s a gorgeous pattern and I loved the results. If you prefer it not be there, let me know and I’ll have it taken down. I should have asked you first! Janet

  9. Sue Hart says:

    Hi,
    I have a question about the repeat instructions.
    For example in the following row what part of the directions am I suppose to do 3x? Is it just the k2tog?
    Row 2: K5, yo, k2tog, yo, k2tog (3x), k2, yo, k3, yo, ssk, yo, k2, yo, k2tog, yo, k2tog (3x), k2, yo, k3, yo, ssk, yo, k5. [42 sts].

    Thanks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

